top of page

Writers Guild of America announces 2022 award winners

Women Talking, Sarah Polley, Writers Guild of America
Women Talking

The Writers Guild of America is the final of the guilds representing above-the-line categories in filmmaking to announce its 2022 award winners. In a typically thin field, thanks to the usual slew of ineligibilities for these awards, they've nonetheless chosen two top contenders for this weekend's Oscars. In Original Screenplay, the Daniels win for Everything Everywhere All at Once, which is only growing more dominant as the season progresses; in Adapted, Sarah Polley makes it three consecutive years with women taking this prize, winning for Women Talking. Both could be in close contention for these respective prizes at the Oscars with the BAFTA winners, The Banshees of Inisherin and All Quiet on the Western Front. Remind yourself of the 2022 WGA Award nominees here, and check out the winners below.

Best Original Screenplay

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Women Talking (Sarah Polley - based upon the book by Miriam Toews)

Best Documentary Screenplay

Moonage Daydream (Brett Morgen)


bottom of page