top of page

Women take top prizes at Online Association of Female Film Critics awards

Carey Mulligan and Connie Britton in Emerald Fennell's Promising Young Woman
Carey Mulligan and Connie Britton in Promising Young Woman

It's been a fabulous year for female representation in awards, with several of the top contenders directed by women. And that's well reflected in the award winners from the Online Association of Female Film Critics. Best Film winner Promising Young Woman takes four awards, including Best Actress for Carey Mulligan and Best Original Screenplay. It shares that prize with Never Rarely Sometimes Always' Eliza Hittman, while Chloe Zhao's Nomadland wins Best Director and Best Adapted Screenplay. Check out the OAFFC's 2020/21 award nominees at this link.

Best Film

Promising Young Woman

Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Female Lead

Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Best Male Lead

Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Best Supporting Female

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Supporting Male

Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Best Original Screenplay

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Eliza Hittman (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Acting Ensemble

One Night in Miami

Best Animated Feature


Best Documentary


Best Breakthrough Filmmaker

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Breakthrough Performance

Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

The ROSIE Award

Never Rarely Sometimes Always


bottom of page