top of page

Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association announces 2020/21 award nominations

Leslie Odom Jr. in Regina King's One Night in Miami
Leslie Odom Jr. in One Night in Miami

The slow drip of mid/late season critics' awards has never been slower than it is this year, so today's announcement of the Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association's awards nominations comes as a nice little Saturday evening treat. We're pleased to see zero white men in the Best Director lineup, and pleased to see First Cow show that at least the critics still have its back (ditto Delroy Lindo). We're a little dismayed to see people still nominating Sacha Baron Cohen over how many other more deserving performers from The Trial of the Chicago 7, but we'll also take that over another Jared Leto nod. The D.C. critics don't wait around - they'll announce their award winners two days from now, on Monday the 8th of February.

Best Film

First Cow



One Night in Miami

Promising Young Woman

Best Director

Lee Isaac Chung - Minari

Emerald Fennell - Promising Young Woman

Regina King - One Night in Miami

Kelly Reichardt - First Cow

Chloé Zhao - Nomadland

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed - Sound of Metal

Chadwick Boseman - Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Anthony Hopkins - The Father

Delroy Lindo - Da 5 Bloods

Steven Yeun - Minari

Best Actress

Viola Davis - Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Vanessa Kirby - Pieces of a Woman

Frances McDormand - Nomadland

Elisabeth Moss - The Invisible Man

Carey Mulligan - Promising Young Woman

Best Supporting Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen - The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Daniel Kaluuya - Judas and the Black Messiah

Bill Murray - On the Rocks

Leslie Odom, Jr. - One Night in Miami

Paul Raci - Sound of Metal

Best Supporting Actress

Maria Bakalova - Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Olivia Colman - The Father

Dominique Fishback - Judas And The Black Messiah

Amanda Seyfried - Mank

Youn Yuh Jung - Minari

Best Acting Ensemble

Da 5 Bloods

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom


One Night in Miami

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Youth Performance

Millie Bobby Brown - Enola Holmes

Sidney Flanigan - Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Alan Kim - Minari

Talia Ryder - Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Helena Zengel - News of the World

Best Voice Performance

Tina Fey - Soul

Jamie Foxx - Soul

Tom Holland - Onward

Honor Kneafsey - Wolfwalkers

Octavia Spencer - Onward

Best Original Screenplay

Lee Isaac Chung - Minari

Emerald Fennell - Promising Young Woman

Abraham Marder and Darius Marder - Sound of Metal

Andy Siara - Palm Springs

Aaron Sorkin - The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Adapted Screenplay

Charlie Kaufman - I'm Thinking of Ending Things

Kemp Powers - One Night in Miami Jonathan Raymond and Kelly Reichardt - First Cow

Ruben Santiago-Hudson - Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Chloé Zhao - Nomadland

Best Animated Feature

The Croods: A New Age


Over the Moon



Best Documentary

Boys State


Crip Camp

Dick Johnson Is Dead


Best International/Foreign Language Film

Another Round


La Llorona

The Mole Agent

Night of the Kings

Best Production Design



Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

News Of The World


Best Cinematography

Erik Messerschmidt - Mank

Joshua James Richards - Nomadland

Newton Thomas Sigel - Da 5 Bloods

Hoyte van Hoytema - Tenet

Dariusz Wolski - News of the World

Best Editing

Alan Baumgarten - The Trial Of The Chicago 7

Kirk Baxter - Mank

Jennifer Lame - Tenet

Mikkel E. G. Nielsen - Sound of Metal

Chloé Zhao - Nomadland

Best Original Score

Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - Soul

Ludwig Göransson - Tenet

Emile Mosseri - Minari

James Newton Howard - News of the World

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - Mank

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC

Crip Camp

The Fight

Jimmy Carter: Rock & Roll President

John Lewis: Good Trouble

Wonder Woman 1984


bottom of page