top of page

Visual Effects Society announces 2020/21 awards nominations

Machine Gun Kelly in Henry Joost and Ariel Schulman's Project Power
Machine Gun Kelly in Project Power

Yet again, the Visual Effects Society's annual awards nominations differ considerably from the Academy's 10-strong shortlist for their own Best Visual Effects category. Titles such as Birds of Prey and Love and Monsters are both absent entirely, while fellow contenders The One and Only Ivan and Tenet appear in just one of the VES' several categories each (in the latter's case, oddly, it's the top category). Only three of their top category nominees are on the Academy's shortlist, while the other two are those leading the live action nominations: Project Power and The Witches. It's a highly diffuse selection among live action films, in an extremely depleted year on that front as blockbusters largely vacated cinema screens - four of the top category nominees are Netflix titles. So the nominations leaders are all animated - Soul, with five, and both Onward and Trolls World Tour with four each. Award winners will be revealed on the 6th and 7th of April.

Outstanding Visual Effects in a Photoreal Feature

Kevin Baillie, Mark Holt, Sean Konrad, Glenn Melenhorst and Sandra Scott (THE WITCHES)

Greg Baxter, Matt Kasmir, Chris Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins (THE MIDNIGHT SKY)

Mike Chambers, Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson, David Lee and Andrew Lockley (TENET)

Yves Debono, Leslie Hough, Ivan Moran, Joao Sita and Matthew Twyford (PROJECT POWER)

Eric Guaglione, Carlos Monzon, Brad Parker, Stefano Pepin and Roma van den Bergh (JINGLE JANGLE: A CHRISTMAS JOURNEY)

Outstanding Supporting Visual Effects in a Photoreal Feature

Maxwell Anderson, Eugen Bräunig, Piers Dennis, Johnny Han and Ryan Laney (WELCOME TO CHECHNYA)

Randall Balsmeyer, James Cooper and Watcharachai Panichsuk (DA 5 BLOODS)

Simon Carr, Peter Mavromates, James Pastorius and Zheng Wei (MANK)

Ian Fellows, Dayaliyah Lopez, Brandon K. McLaughlin, Andrew Morley and Roni Rodrigues (NEWS OF THE WORLD)

Marko Forker, Lynzi Grant, Olivier Sarda and Craig Wentworth (EXTRACTION)

Outstanding Visual Effects in an Animated Feature

Matt Baer, Kendal Cronkhite-Shaindlin, Walt Dohrn and Gina Shay (TROLLS WORLD TOUR)

Sanjay Bakshi, Kori Rae, Dan Scanlon and Vincent Serritella (ONWARD)

Joel Crawford, Jakob Hjort Jensen, Betsy Nofsinger and Mark Swift (THE CROODS: A NEW AGE)

Céline Desrumaux, Glen Keane, Gennie Rim and David Alexander Smith (OVER THE MOON)

Pete Docter, Michael Fong, Dana Murray and Bill Watral (SOUL)

Outstanding Animated Character in a Photoreal Feature

Adrien Annesley, Mahmoud Ellithy, Eric Guaglione and Shuchi Singhal - "Don Juan Diego" (JINGLE JANGLE: A CHRISTMAS JOURNEY)

Sebastian Badea, Dorian Knapp, Claudius Urban and Ruth Wiegand - "Kangaroo" (THE KANGAROO CHRONICLES)

William Bell, Andrea de Martis, Thomas Huizer and Valentina Rosselli - "Ivan" (THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN)

Sarah Fuller, Marco Iannaccone, Jye Skinn and Fredrik Sundqvist - "Daisy" (THE WITCHES)

Outstanding Animated Character in an Animated Feature

Kristopher Campbell, Jonas Jarvers, Rob Jensen and Jacob Kuenzel - "Dad Pants" (ONWARD)

Alan Chen, Kim Hye Sook, Javier Solsona and Siggi Orri Thorhannesson - "Chang'e" (OVER THE MOON)

Jacques Daigle, Guillaume Dufief, Liam Hill and Adrien Montero - "SpongeBob" (THE SPONGEBOB MOVIE: SPONGE ON THE RUN)

Jonathan Hoffman, Jonathan Page, Peter Tieryas and Ron Zorman - "Terry" (SOUL)

Outstanding Created Environment in a Photoreal Feature

Aaron Auty, Simon Carlile, Stefano Cieri and Patrick Zentis - 1937 Shanghai Downtown (THE EIGHT HUNDRED)

Patrick Bacon, Dawid Borkiewicz, Arnaud Brisebois and Gérôme Viavant - Neuralspace (BLOODSHOT)

Matt Fitzgerald, Jeremy Fort, Adrian Vercoe and Ben Walker - Imperial City (MULAN)

Mark Honer, Julian Hutchens, Jamie Macdougall and David Pekarek - Shanghai Warehouse District (THE EIGHT HUNDRED)

Outstanding Created Environment in an Animated Feature

Eric Andraos, Laura Grieve, Nick Pitera and Michael Rutter - Swamp Gas (ONWARD)

Sara Cembalisty, Brian LaFrance, Ruben Perez and Christopher Sprunger - Volcano Rock City (TROLLS WORLD TOUR)

Chang Ho Suk, Joh Sung Yeon, Peter Roe and Frank Tai - You Seminar (SOUL)

Zachary Glynn, Luke Heathcock, Marina Ilic and Michael Trull - Techno Reef (TROLLS WORLD TOUR)

Outstanding Virtual Cinematography in a CG Project

Matt Aspbury and Ian Megibben (SOUL)

Eric Beaver, Aladino Debert, Matt Dougan and David Liu - A Storm Is Coming (GHOST OF TSUSHIMA)

Richard Bluff, Landis Fields IV, Matt Jensen and Chris Williams - The Believer (THE MANDALORIAN)

Jose Burgos, Dave Crispino, Paul Kavanagh and Kyle Winkelman - The Siege (THE MANDALORIAN)

Outstanding Model in a Photoreal or Animated Project

Simon Aluze, Michael Balthazart, John-Peter Li and Jonathan Opgenhaffen - Aether (THE MIDNIGHT SKY)

Gerald Blaise, Ryan Church, Enrico Damm and Jay Machado - Boba Fett's Ship (THE MANDALORIAN)

Peter Dominik, Sylvain Lesaint, Jared Michael and Emily Tilson - Rollercoaster (THE WITCHES)

Rene Garcia, John Goodson, John Knoll and Dan Patrascu - The Rescue; Light Cruiser (THE MANDALORIAN)

Outstanding Effects Simulations in a Photoreal Feature

Sandra Balej, James Carson, Yuri Rudakov and Theo Vandernoot (MULAN)

Deak Ferrand, Omar Meradi, Jeremy Poupin and Sylvain Robert (BLOODSHOT)

Dominik Haase, Warren Lawtey, Vimal Mallireddy and Tom O’Bready (MONSTER HUNTER)

Michelle Lee, Leung Yin Lai, Jonathan Edward Lyddon-Towl and Pierpaolo Navarini (PROJECT POWER)

Mike Nixon, Nicholas Papworth, Yashdeep Sawant and Jeremy Smith (GREYHOUND)

Outstanding Effects Simulations in an Animated Feature

Helén Ahlberg, Kim Rae Hyeon, Kyle McQueen and Russell Smith (THE WILLOUGHBYS)

Alexis Angelidis, Keith Daniel Klohn, Aimei Kutt and Melissa Tseng (SOUL)

Nick Augello, Carl Hooper, Spencer Knapp and Stephen Wood (TROLLS WORLD TOUR)

Brian Casper, Ian Farnsworth, Jennifer Lasrado and Reinhold Rittinger (OVER THE MOON)

Dave Hale, Jonah Blue Laird, Stephen Marshall and Ricardo Nadu (ONWARD)

Outstanding Compositing in a Feature

Sneha Amin, Stu Bruzek, Chris Gooch and Tiago Santos (GREYHOUND)

Andreas Andersson, Ruslan Borysov, Susil Sabat and Sreejith Venugopalan (UNDERWATER)

Joerg Bruemmer, Indah Maretha, Christoph Salzmann and Beck Veitch (MULAN)

Russell Horth, Matthew Patience and Julien Rousseau (PROJECT POWER)


bottom of page