top of page

UK Critics' Circle Announces 2018 Film Award Nominations

Tomasz Kot and Joanna Kulig in Cold War

A breath of fresh air in this crowded critics' corridor of awards season, the UK Critics' Circle (you might know them as the London Critics' Circle) has announced its nominations for its film awards for the year. British actors Lee Shone and Molly Wright - herself nominated this year - announced the nominees at London's May Fair Hotel just now, which include multiple mentions for some of the season's underdogs such as Cold War and You Were Never Really Here, while The Favourite leads the field with 10 nominations total. The big story online is the shut-out for A Star Is Born, though I'm more perplexed by Roma's cinematography missing out on a Technical Achievement nod. It's always a great selection from the UKCC, and this year's is no exception - two female directors recognized! We'll have to wait until the ceremony on the 20th of January to find out the winners, but for now, you can see all the nominations below.

Film of the Year

BlacKkKlansman Cold War

The Favourite

First Man

First Reformed

The Happy Prince

Leave No Trace



You Were Never Really Here

Director of the Year

Alfonso Cuaron (Roma)

Debra Granik (Leave No Trace)

Yorgos Lanthimos (The Favourite)

Pawel Pawlikowski (Cold War)

Lynne Ramsay (You Were Never Really Here)

Actress of the Year

Yalitza Aparicio (Roma)

Glenn Close (The Wife)

Toni Collette (Hereditary)

Olivia Colman (The Favourite)

Joanna Kulig (Cold War)

Actor of the Year

Christian Bale (Vice)

Rupert Everett (The Happy Prince)

Ben Foster (Leave No Trace)

Ethan Hawke (First Reformed)

Joaquin Phoenix (You Were Never Really Here)

Supporting Actress of the Year

Elizabeth Debicki (Widows)

Cynthia Erivo (Bad Times at the El Royale)

Claire Foy (First Man)

Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Rachel Weisz (The Favourite)

Supporting Actor of the Year

Adam Driver (BlacKkKlansman)

Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Michael B. Jordan (Black Panther)

Daniel Kaluuya (Widows)

Alessandro Nivola (Disobedience)

Screenwriter of the Year

Alfonso Cuaron (Roma)

Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (The Favourite)

Gillian Flynn and Steve McQueen (Widows)

Barry Jenkins (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Paul Schrader (First Reformed)

Technical Achievement of the Year

Erik Aadahl and Ethan van der Ryn - sound design (A Quiet Place)

Joe Bini - editing (You Were Never Really Here)

Nicholas Britell - music (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Fiona Crombie - production design (The Favourite)

Wade Eastwood - stunts (Mission: Impossible - Fallout)

Nick Fenton, Chris Gill and Julian Hart - editing (American Animals)

Paul Lambert - visual effects (First Man)

Marci Rodgers - costume design (BlacKkKlansman)

Thom Yorke - music (Suspiria)

Lukasz Zal - cinematography (Cold War)

Documentary of the Year

Faces Places


They Shall Not Grow Old

Three Identical Strangers


Foreign Language Film of the Year

BPM (Beats Per Minute)

Cold War

A Fantastic Woman



The Attenborough Award for British / Irish Film of the Year



The Favourite

The Happy Prince

You Were Never Really Here

British / Irish Actress of the Year

Emily Blunt (Mary Poppins Returns / A Quiet Place / Sherlock Holmes)

Jessie Buckley (Beast)

Olivia Colman (The Favourite)

Claire Foy (First Man / The Girl in the Spider's Web / Unsane)

Rachel Weisz (Disobedience / The Favourite)

British / Irish Actor of the Year

Christian Bale (Mowgli: Legend of the Jungle / Vice)

Steve Coogan (Holmes & Watson / Ideal Home / Stan & Ollie)

Rupert Everett (The Happy Prince)

Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me? / The Nutcracker and the Four Realms)

Daniel Kaluuya (Black Panther / Widows)

The Philip French Award for Breakthrough British / Irish Filmmaker of the Year

Deborah Davis (The Favourite)

Rupert Everett (The Happy Prince)

Deborah Haywood (Pin Cushion)

Daniel Kokotajlo (Apostasy)

Michael Pearce (Beast)

Young British / Irish Performer of the Year

Liv Hill (Jellyfish / The Little Stranger)

Noah Jupe (Holmes & Watson / A Quiet Place / That Good Night / The Titan)

Ana Taylor-Joy (Marrowbone / Thoroughbreds)

Fionn Whitehead (The Children Act)

Molly Wright (Apostasy)

British / Irish Short Film of the Year

Little Shit (Richard Gorodecky)

Night Out (Amelia Hashemi)

Salt & Sauce (Alia Ghafar)

Three Centimetres (Lara Zeidan)

Under Growth (Evin O'Neill)

Dilys Powell Award for Career Achievement

Pedro Almodovar

Image Credit: MovieStillsDB

10 views0 comments


bottom of page