top of page

Trenque Lauquen sweeps 2022 ICS awards

Cecilia Rainero, Trenque Lauquen, Laura Citarella, International Cinephile Society
Cecilia Rainero in Trenque Lauquen

Sometimes, all it takes is four nominations to win four awards! Laura Citarella's four-hour drama Trenque Lauquen has been declared the best film of 2022 by the International Cinephile Society, winning in all the categories where it was nominated. Doing so, it beat two hot favourites: Albert Serra's Pacifiction, which won three prizes from its nine nominations, landing in second place in the Best Picture lineup and claiming a joint Best Director award alongside Citarella, and Charlotte Wells' Aftersun, which also won four prizes from its ten nominations, the most of any movie this year with the ICS. Check out all the details below.

Best Picture

1: Trenque Lauquen

2: Pacifiction

3: Aftersun

4: Saint Omer

5: Tar

6: EO

7: The Fabelmans

8: Saturn Bowling

9: The Maiden

10: Godland

11: The Banshees of Inisherin

12: Crimes of the Future

13: Decision to Leave

14: Coma

15: Tommy Guns

16: The Novelist's Film

17: Alcarras

18: Unrest

19: Showing Up

20: You Have to Come and See It

Best Director

Laura Citarella (Trenque Lauquen)

Albert Serra (Pacifiction)

Best Actress

Guslagie Malanda (Saint Omer)

Runner-up: Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Best Actor

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Runner-up: Benoit Magimel (Pacifiction)

Best Supporting Actress

Kristen Stewart (Crimes of the Future)

Runner-up: Pahoa Mahagafanau (Pacifiction)

Best Supporting Actor

Achille Reggiani (Saturn Bowling)

Runner-up: Ingvar Sigurdsson (Godland)

Best Original Screenplay

Trenque Lauquen (Laura Citarella and Laura Paredes)

Runner-up: Saint Omer (Amrita David, Alice Diop and Marie N'Diaye)

Best Adapted Screenplay

The Eight Mountains (Charlotte Vandermeersch and Felix van Groeningen)

Runner-up: A Flower in the Mouth (Eric Baudelaire and Anne-Louise Trividic)

Best Cinematography

Pacifiction (Artur Tort)

Runner-up: Godland (Maria von Hausswolff)

Best Editing

Aftersun (Blair McClendon)

Runner-up: Decision to Leave (Kim Sang Beom)

Best Production Design

Crimes of the Future (Dimitris Katsikis, Carol Spier and Kimberley Zaharko)

Runner-up: Bardo, False Chronicle of a Handful of Truths (Eugenio Caballero)

Runner-up: Decision to Leave (Ryu Seong Hie)

Best Sound Design

Pacifiction (Jordi Ribas)

Runner-up: Unrest (Guido Keller, Miguel Moraes Cabral and Roland Widmer)

Best Score

EO (Pawel Mykietyn)

Runner-up: Decision to Leave (Jo Yeong Wook)

Best Ensemble

Trenque Lauquen

Runner-up: Alcarras

Best Animated Film

No Dogs or Italians Allowed (Alain Ughetto)

Runner-up: Fairytale (Aleksandr Sokurov)

Best Documentary

Tales of the Purple House (Abbas Fahdel)

Runner-up: All the Beauty and the Bloodshed (Laura Poitras)

Best Debut Feature

Aftersun (Charlotte Wells)

Runner-up: The Maiden (Graham Foy)

Best Breakthrough Performance

Frankie Corio (Aftersun)

Runner-up: Guslagie Malanda (Saint Omer)


bottom of page