top of page

Toronto Film Critics Association announces 2020/21 award winners

Riz Ahmed in Darius Marder's Sound of Metal
Riz Ahmed in Sound of Metal

The next critics group to announce its award winners this season is the Toronto Film Critics Association. They've picked a popular choice for Best Picture: Chloe Zhao's Nomadland, which also wins prizes for Best Director and Actress. Riz Ahmed's Sound of Metal wins Best Actor, while First Cow and Minari both fare well, with the latter winning Best Screenplay. We'll have to wait until the TFCA's virtual gala on the 9th of March to find out who's won their Best Canadian Film award.

Best Picture

  1. Nomadland

  2. First Cow

  3. Minari

Best Director

  1. Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

  2. Kelly Reichardt (First Cow)

  3. Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Best Actress

  1. Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

  2. Viola Davis (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

  3. Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Best Actor

  1. Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

  2. Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

  3. Mads Mikkelsen (Another Round)

Best Supporting Actress

  1. Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

  2. Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

  3. Olivia Colman (The Father)

Best Supporting Actor

  1. Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)

  2. Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)

  3. Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami)

Best Screenplay

  1. Minari

  2. Nomadland

  3. Sound of Metal

Best Animated Feature

  1. Wolfwalkers

  2. Soul

  3. The Willoughbys

Allan King Documentary Award

  1. Collective

  2. Crip Camp

  3. David Byrne's American Utopia / Time

Best Foreign Language Film

  1. Bacurau

  2. Another Round

  3. Beanpole

Best First Feature

  1. The Forty-Year-Old Version

  2. The Father

  3. Promising Young Woman

Best Canadian Film (nominees)

And the Birds Rained Down

Anne at 13,000 ft

White Lie

The Clyde Gilmour Award

Jason Ryle

Jay Scott Prize for Emerging Artist

Kelly Fyffe-Marshall


bottom of page