top of page

The Quiet Girl wins Dublin Film Critics Circle Best Film award

Catherine Clinch, The Quiet Girl, Colm Bairead, Dublin Film Critics Circle
Catherine Clinch in The Quiet Girl

With plenty of Irish representation in the spotlight for the second consecutive awards season, the Dublin Film Critics Circle had an embarassment of riches from which to select their year-end favourites. And they've gone with a proper homegrown success story: Colm Bairead's The Quiet Girl as their #1 movie of 2022. Elsewhere, there were prizes for Aftersun, The Banshees of Inisherin and Everything Everywhere All at Once, all of which feature highly in their Top 10 of the year. All the details below.

Best Film

1: The Quiet Girl

2: Aftersun

3: Everything Everywhere All at Once

4: The Banshees of Inisherin

5: Living

6: Elvis

7: RRR

8: Happening

9: Vortex

10: Parallel Mothers

Best Director

1: Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

2: Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

3: Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

4: Colm Bairead (The Quiet Girl)

5: Robert Eggers (The Northman)

6: Oliver Hermanus (Living)

7: S. S. Rajamouli (RRR)

8: Park Chan Wook (Decision to Leave)

9: Gaspar Noe (Vortex)

10: Luca Guadagnino (Bones and All)

Best Actress

1: Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

2: Penelope Cruz (Parallel Mothers)

3: Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

4: Tang Wei (Decision to Leave)

5: Anamaria Vartolomei (Happening)

Best Actor

1: Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

2: Bill Nighy (Living)

3: Austin Butler (Elvis)

4: Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

5: Udo Kier (Swan Song)

Best Screenplay

1: Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

2: Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

3: Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

4: Park Chan Wook (Decision to Leave)

5: Jordan Peele (Nope)

6: Mariano Cohn, Andres Duprat and Gaston Duprat (Official Competition)

7: Gaspar Noe (Vortex)

8: Terence Davies (Benediction)

9: Rian Johnson (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

10: Edward Berger, Lesley Paterson and Ian Stokell (All Quiet on the Western Front)

Cinematography Award

1: Claudio Miranda (Top Gun: Maverick)

2: Ben Davis (The Banshees of Inisherin)

3: Hoyte van Hoytema (Nope)

4: Larkin Seiple (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

5: Kate McCullough (The Quiet Girl)

6: K. K. Senthil Kumar (RRR)

7: Jarin Blaschke (The Northman)

8: Benoit Debie (Vortex)

9: Jamie Ramsay (Living)

10: Mitja Licen (Small Body)

Best Documentary

1: Moonage Daydream

2: Nothing Compares

3: Lyra

4: Kurt Vonnegut: Unstuck in Time

5: Futura

6: Cow

7: Fire of Love

8: Million Dollar Pigeons

9: The Territory

10: North Circular

Best Irish Film

1: The Quiet Girl

2: Roise and Frank

3: Nothing Compares

4: The Dance

5: It Is in Us All

International Breakthrough Award

Amber Midthunder (Prey)

Irish Breakthrough Award

Alisha Weir (Matilda)


bottom of page