top of page

The Irishman leads Seattle Film Critics Society award nominations

Robert de Niro in Martin Scorsese's The Irishman
Robert de Niro in The Irishman

10... 9... 8... 7... no 6, we'll skip that... then a bunch of other numbers a bunch of times. The Seattle Film Critics Society has announced its award nominations for 2019, and it's a countdown! 10 for The Irishman! 9 for Parasite! 8 for Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood! 7 for Little Women! And all nominated among the 10 Best Picture candidates, which contains several correctives to some of the less-than-encouraging nomination slates so far this season.

And not just Best Picture - the diverse acting categories are brimful of underrecognized performers such as Taylor Russell and Song Kang Ho. Indeed, as usual, the SFCS' nominations are some of the season's most impressive thus far, and likely to remain that way until its very end.

Winners will be announced a week today, Monday the 16th of December. Check back then for all the details!

Best Picture


The Farewell

Ford v. Ferrari

The Irishman

The Lighthouse

Little Women

Marriage Story

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood


Uncut Gems

Best Director

Bong Joon Ho (Parasite)

Robert Eggers (The Lighthouse)

Greta Gerwig (Little Women)

Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie (Uncut Gems)

Martin Scorsese (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Awkwafina (The Farewell)

Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)

Lupita Nyong'o (Us)

Saoirse Ronan (Little Women)

Renee Zellweger (Judy)

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Antonio Banderas (Pain & Glory)

Robert de Niro (The Irishman)

Adam Driver (Marriage Story)

Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)

Adam Sandler (Uncut Gems)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Laura Dern (Marriage Story)

Jennifer Lopez (Hustlers)

Florence Pugh (Little Women)

Taylor Russell (Waves)

Zhao Shu Zhen (The Farewell)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Willem Dafoe (The Lighthouse)

Tom Hanks (A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood)

Joe Pesci (The Irishman)

Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Song Kang Ho (Parasite)

Best Screenplay

Noah Baumbach (Marriage Story)

Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won (Parasite)

Rian Johnson (Knives Out)

Lulu Wang (The Farewell)

Steven Zaillian (The Irishman)

Best Cinematography

Jarin Blaschke (The Lighthouse)

Roger Deakins (1917)

Hong Kyung Pyo (Parasite)

Claire Mathon (Portrait of a Lady on Fire)

Robert Richardson (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Film Editing

Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie (Uncut Gems)

Fred Raskin (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Thelma Schoonmaker (The Irishman)

Lee Smith (1917)

Yang Jin Mo (Parasite)

Best Production Design

Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales (1917)

Jess Gonchor and Claire Kaufman (Little Women)

Regina Graves and Bob Shaw (The Irishman)

Nancy Haigh and Barbara Ling (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Lee Ha Jun (Parasite)

Best Costume Design

Ruth E. Carter (Dolemite Is My Name)

Julian Day (Rocketman)

Jacqueline Durran (Little Women)

Arianne Phillips (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Anna Robbins (Downton Abbey)

Best Visual Effects

Matt Aitken, Dan DeLeeuw, Russell Earl and Daniel Sudick (Avengers: Endgame)

Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron and Dominic Tuohy (1917)

Nick Epstein, Joe Letteri and Eric Saindon (Alita: Battle Angel)

Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman and Nelson Sepulveda (The Irishman)

Scott R. Fisher, Allen Maris, Guillaume Rocheron and Jedediah Smith (Ad Astra)

Best Original Score

Michael Abels (Us)

Hildur Gudnadottir (Joker)

Daniel Lopatin (Uncut Gems)

Emile Mosseri (The Last Black Man in San Francisco)

Thomas Newman (1917)

Best Ensemble Cast

The Irishman

Knives Out

Little Women

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood


Best Action Choreography


Avengers: Endgame

Ford v. Ferrari

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum


Best Animated Feature

Frozen II (Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee)

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (Dean DeBlois)

I Lost My Body (Jeremy Clapin)

Missing Link (Chris Butler)

Toy Story 4 (Josh Cooley)

Best Documentary Feature

American Factory (Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert)

Apollo 11 (Todd Douglas Miller)

For Sama (Waad Al-Khateab and Edward Watts)

Fyre (Chris Smith)

Honeyland (Tamara Kotevska and Ljubomir Stefanov)

Best Foreign Language Film

The Farewell (Lulu Wang)

Monos (Alejandro Landes)

Pain & Glory (Pedro Almodovar)

Parasite (Bong Joon Ho)

Portrait of a Lady on Fire (Celine Sciamma)

Best Youth Performance (18 years of age or younger upon start of filming)

Julia Butters (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Kyleigh Curran (Doctor Sleep)

Roman Griffin Davis (Jojo Rabbit)

Noah Jupe (Honey Boy)

Thomasin McKenzie (Jojo Rabbit)

Villain of the Year

Rebecca Ferguson - 'Rose the Hat' (Doctor Sleep)

Lupita Nyong'o - 'Red' (Us)

Joe Pesci - 'Russell Bufalino' (The Irishman)

Joaquin Phoenix - 'Arthur Fleck / The Joker' (Joker)

A red dress - 'The red dress' (In Fabric)

Image credit: MovieStillsDB

10 views0 comments


bottom of page