top of page

The Favourite Lives Up To Its Name At 2018 British Independent Film Awards

Rachel Weisz and Olivia Colman in The Favourite

Talk about a performance fit for a queen! The Favourite went into the 2018 BIFAs with frontrunner status firmly sewed onto its gilded, ruffled lapel, but few could have foreseen its dominance at tonight's ceremony. Or perhaps they could have, as its five technical category wins had already been announced, but its five more - making 10 out of 13 nominations across 12 categories a record-setting victory for the British black comedy - are arguably even more impressive a feat. There were debut category wins for Ray & Liz and American Animals, the latter of which inevitably suffered greatly in the face of The Favourite's strength. Take a look at the full, final winners list below:

Best British Independent Film

The Favourite (Deborah Davis, Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Yorgos Lanthimos, Lee Magiday and Tony McNamara)

Best Director

Yorgos Lanthimos (The Favourite)

Best Actress

Olivia Colman (The Favourite)

Best Actor

Joe Cole (A Prayer Before Dawn)

Best Supporting Actress

Rachel Weisz (The Favourite)

Best Supporting Actor

Alessandro Nivola (Disobedience)

Best Screenplay

Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (The Favourite)

Best Cinematography

Robbie Ryan (The Favourite)

Best Editing

Nick Fenton, Chris Gill and Julian Hart (American Animals)

Best Production Design

Fiona Crombie (The Favourite)

Best Costume Design

Sandy Powell (The Favourite)

Best Sound

Paul Davies (You Were Never Really Here)

Best Effects

Howard Jones (Early Man)

Best Make-Up and Hair Design

Nadia Stacey (The Favourite)

Best Music

Jonny Greenwood (You Were Never Really Here)

Best Casting

Dixie Chassay (The Favourite)

Best Documentary

Evelyn (Joanna Natasegara and Orlando von Einsiedel)

Best International Independent Film

Roma (Nicolas Celis, Alfonso Cuaron and Gabriela Rodriguez)

The Douglas Hickox Award for Best Debut Director

Richard Billingham (Ray & Liz)

Best Debut Screenwriter

Bart Layton (American Animals)

Best Breakthrough Producer

Jacqui Davies (Ray & Liz)

The Discovery Award

Voyageuse (May Miles Thomas)

Most Promising Newcomer

Jessie Buckley (Beast)

Best Short Film

The Big Day (Dawn Shadforth, Kellie Smith and Michelle Stein)

Special Jury Prize

Horace Ove

Richard Harris Award

Judi Dench

Variety Award

Felicity Jones

3 views0 comments


bottom of page