top of page

The Favourite Leads 2018 Online Film Critics Society's Award Nominations

Teyonah Parris, Kiki Layne and Regina King in If Beale Street Could Talk

A late Christmas present from the Online Film Critics Society! Always reliable with their year end nominations, this year's crop is up to their usual standards. Best Picture nominations for underappreciated titles like Annihilation and Suspiria and a diverse slate of acting nominees liven up awards season as we head into the new year, and the awards race threatens to become more and more homogeneous. As we've come to expect, The Favourite leads nominations with eight. Winners will be announced a week today, the 2nd of January. All the details below:

Best Picture



Eighth Grade

The Favourite

First Reformed


If Beale Street Could Talk


A Star Is Born


You Were Never Really Here

Best Director

Alfonso Cuaron (Roma)

Barry Jenkins (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Yorgos Lanthimos (The Favourite)

Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman)

Lynne Ramsay (You Were Never Really Here)

Best Actress

Yalitza Aparicio (Roma)

Toni Collette (Hereditary)

Olivia Colman (The Favourite)

Regina Hall (Support the Girls)

Lady Gaga (A Star Is Born)

Best Actor

Christian Bale (Vice)

Bradley Cooper (A Star Is Born)

Ethan Hawke (First Reformed)

Joaquin Phoenix (You Were Never Really Here)

John David Washington (BlacKkKlansman)

Best Supporting Actress

Elizabeth Debicki (Widows)

Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Thomasin McKenzie (Leave No Trace)

Emma Stone (The Favourite)

Rachel Weisz (The Favourite)

Best Supporting Actor

Mahershala Ali (Green Book)

Adam Driver (BlacKkKlansman)

Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Michael B. Jordan (Black Panther)

Steven Yeun (Burning)

Best Original Screenplay

Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)

Alfonso Cuaron (Roma)

Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (The Favourite)

Boots Riley (Sorry to Bother You)

Paul Schrader (First Reformed)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Gillian Flynn and Steve McQueen (Widows)

Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini (Leave No Trace)

Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Barry Jenkins (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Spike Lee, David Rabinowitz, Charlie Wachtel and Kevin Willmott (BlacKkKlansman)

Best Cinematography

Alfonso Cuaron (Roma)

James Laxton (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Robbie Ryan (The Favourite)

Linus Sandgren (First Man)

Lukasz Zal (Cold War)

Best Editing

Tom Cross (First Man)

Alfonso Cuaron and Adam Gough (Roma)

Eddie Hamilton (Mission: Impossible - Fallout)

Yorgos Mavropsaridis (The Favourite)

Joe Walker (Widows)

Best Original Score

Nicholas Britell (If Beale Street Could Talk)

Alexandre Desplat (Isle of Dogs)

Ludwig Goransson (Black Panther)

Justin Hurwitz (First Man)

Thom Yorke (Suspiria)

Best Animated Feature

Incredibles 2

Isle of Dogs


Ralph Breaks the Internet

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Documentary

Free Solo

Minding the Gap


Three Identical Strangers

Won't You Be My Neighbour?

Best Film Not in the English Language


Cold War




Best Debut Feature

Ari Aster (Hereditary)

Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)

Bradley Cooper (A Star Is Born)

Carlos Lopez Estrada (Blindspotting)

Boots Riley (Sorry to Bother You)

12 views0 comments


bottom of page