top of page

The Banshees of Inisherin leads 2022 London Critics Circle Film Awards nominations

Updated: Jan 11, 2023

Brendan Gleeson, Colin Farrell, The Banshees of Inisherin, Martin McDonagh, London Critics Circle Film Awards
Brendan Gleeson and Colin Farrell in The Banshees of Inisherin

The Banshees of Inisherin unsurprisingly leads the nominations for the London Critics Circle Film Awards for 2022. Capitalizing on its status as both a British and an Irish production, since these awards recognize both in a series of special categories, the movie earns nine nominations total, including Film of the Year and British/Irish Film of the Year. Strong showings here too for fellow British/Irish titles Living and The Wonder, and also for Decision to Leave and Saint Omer. Winners for the 43rd LCC Film Awards will be announced on 5 February.

Film of the Year


All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

The Banshees of Inisherin

Decision to Leave

Everything Everywhere All at Once

The Fabelmans


Saint Omer


Top Gun: Maverick

Director of the Year

Todd Field (Tar)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Park Chan Wook (Decision to Leave)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Actress of the Year

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Ana de Armas (Blonde)

Vicky Krieps (Corsage)

Florence Pugh (The Wonder)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Actor of the Year

Austin Butler (Elvis)

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Bill Nighy (Living)

Supporting Actress of the Year

Chau Hong (The Whale)

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Dolly de Leon (Triangle of Sadness)

Nina Hoss (Tar)

Guslagie Malanda (Saint Omer)

Supporting Actor of the Year

Tom Burke (The Wonder)

Brendan Gleeson (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brian Tyree Henry (Causeway)

Barry Keoghan (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Screenwriter of the Year

Todd Field (Tar)

Tony Kushner and Steven Spielberg (The Fabelmans)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Technical Achievement Award

Matias Boucard (Athena) - cinematography

Ruth E. Carter (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever) - costumes

Nina Gold (The Wonder) - casting

Stephen Griffiths (Tar) - sound design

Brian Leif Hansen (Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio) - animation

Kim Ji Yong (Decision to Leave) - cinematography

Catherine Martin (Elvis) - costumes

Nick Powell (RRR) - stunts

Paul Rogers (Everything Everywhere All at Once) - film editing

Leslie Shatz (Blonde) - sound design

Documentary of the Year

All That Breathes

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

Fire of Love

Kurt Vonnegut: Unstuck in Time

Moonage Daydream

Foreign-Language Film of the Year

Decision to Leave


The Quiet Girl


Saint Omer

The Attenborough Award for British/Irish Film of the Year


The Banshees of Inisherin


The Quiet Girl

The Wonder

British/Irish Actress of the Year

Jessie Buckley (Men / Women Talking)

Olivia Colman (Empire of Light / Joyride)

Florence Pugh (Don't Worry Darling / The Wonder)

Emma Thompson (Good Luck to You, Leo Grande / Matilda the Musical)

Letitia Wright (Aisha / Black Panther: Wakanda Forever / The Silent Twins)

British/Irish Actor of the Year

Harris Dickinson (See How They Run / Triangle of Sadness / Where the Crawdads Sing)

Colin Farrell (After Yang / The Banshees of Inisherin / The Batman / Thirteen Lives)

Ralph Fiennes (The Forgiven / The Menu)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Bill Nighy (Living)

The Philip French Award for Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker

Colm Bairead (The Quiet Girl)

Katy Brand (Good Luck to You, Leo Grande)

Frances O'Connor (Emily)

Georgia Oakley (Blue Jean)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Young British/Irish Performer of the Year

Catherine Clinch (The Quiet Girl)

Frankie Corio (Aftersun)

Kila Lord Cassidy (The Wonder)

Bella Ramsey (Catherine Called Birdy)

Alisha Weir (Matilda the Musical)

British/Irish Short Film of the Year

A Fox in the Night (Keeran Anwar Blessie)

Groom (Leyla Coll-O'Reilly)

Honesty (Roxy Rezvany)

A Letter to Black Men (Kiosa Sukami)

Scale (Joseph Pierce)


bottom of page