top of page

The 2014 Critics Consensus Award Nominations

Michael Keaton and Emma Stone in Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

The 2014 Critics Consensus Award nominations mark the first time that a streaming title has received a Best Picture nod: Jonathan Glazer's Under the Skin, which was snubbed entirely at Oscar that year. And the first woman of colour to receive a Best Director nod: Ava DuVernay for Selma, though alas her movie missed out on a place in Best Picture. There are some interesting choices in acting categories (Timothy Spall, Agata Kulesza, Tilda Swinton's fifth individual acting nomination), and thankfully a corrective to the Academy's snub of Gillian Flynn in Adapted Screenplay. The top three movies are Boyhood with eight nods, The Grand Budapest Hotel with nine, and Birdman out in front with ten. Winners will be announced later today; check out the 16 categories' nominations below.

Best Picture

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) (Alejandro G. Inarritu, John Lesher, Arnon Milchan and James W. Skotchdopole)

Boyhood (Richard Linklater, Jonathan Sehring, John Sloss and Cathleen Sutherland)

The Grand Budapest Hotel (Wes Anderson, Jeremy Dawson, Steven Rales and Scott Rudin)

Under the Skin (Jonathan Glazer, Nick Wechsler and James Wilson)

Whiplash (Jason Blum, Damien Chazelle, Helen Estabrook, David Lancaster and Michel Litvak)

Best Director

Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Ava DuVernay (Selma)

David Fincher (Gone Girl)

Alejandro G. Inarritu (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Marion Cotillard (Two Days, One Night)

Scarlett Johansson (Under the Skin)

Julianne Moore (Still Alice)

Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)

Reese Witherspoon (Wild)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Ralph Fiennes (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler)

Michael Keaton (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything)

Timothy Spall (Mr. Turner)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Patricia Arquette (Boyhood)

Jessica Chastain (A Most Violent Year)

Agata Kulesza (Ida)

Emma Stone (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

Tilda Swinton (Snowpiercer)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Josh Brolin (Inherent Vice)

Ethan Hawke (Boyhood)

Edward Norton (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

Mark Ruffalo (Foxcatcher)

J. K. Simmons (Whiplash)

Best Original Screenplay

Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Armando Bo, Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolas Giacobone and Alejandro G. Inarritu (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

Damien Chazelle (Whiplash)

Dan Gilroy (Nightcrawler)

Richard Linklater (Boyhood)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Paul Thomas Anderson (Inherent Vice)

Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl)

Nick Hornby (Wild)

Anthony McCarten (The Theory of Everything)

Graham Moore (The Imitation Game)

Best Cinematography

Daniel Landin (Under the Skin)

Emmanuel Lubezki (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

Dick Pope (Mr. Turner)

Hoyte van Hoytema (Interstellar)

Robert D. Yeoman (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Editing

Sandra Adair (Boyhood)

Kirk Baxter (Gone Girl)

Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

Tom Cross (Whiplash)

Barney Pilling (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Production Design

David Crank (Inherent Vice)

Nathan Crowley (Interstellar)

Dennis Gassner (Into the Woods)

Ondrej Nekvasil (Snowpiercer)

Adam Stockhausen (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Best Music

Alexandre Desplat (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Mica Levi (Under the Skin)

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Gone Girl)

Antonio Sanchez (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

Hans Zimmer (Interstellar)

Best Ensemble Cast

F. Murray Abraham, Mathieu Amalric, Adrien Brody, Willem Dafoe, Ralph Fiennes, Jeff Goldblum, Harvey Keitel, Jude Law, Bill Murray, Edward Norton, Tony Revolori, Saoirse Ronan, Jason Schwartzman, Lea Seydoux, Tilda Swinton, Tom Wilkinson and Owen Wilson (The Grand Budapest Hotel)

Patricia Arquette, Ellar Coltrane, Ethan Hawke and Lorelei Linklater (Boyhood)

Dylan Baker, Common, Carmen Ejogo, Cuba Gooding Jr., Andre Holland, Stephan James, Alessandro Nivola, David Oyelowo, Wendell Pierce, Giovanni Ribisi, Tim Roth, Lakeith Stanfield, Lorraine Toussaint, Tom Wilkinson and Oprah Winfrey (Selma)

Christine Baranski, Tammy Blanchard, Emily Blunt, James Corden, Lilla Crawford, Frances de la Tour, Johnny Depp, Daniel Huttlestone, Anna Kendrick, Billy Magnussen, Mackenzie Mauzy, Chris Pine, Lucy Punch, Simon Russell Beale, Meryl Streep and Tracey Ullman (Into the Woods)

Zach Galifianakis, Michael Keaton, Edward Norton, Andrea Riseborough, Amy Ryan, Emma Stone and Naomi Watts (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

Best Animated Feature

Big Hero 6 (Roy Conli, Don Hall and Chris Williams)

The Boxtrolls (Graham Annable, David Bleiman Ichioka, Travis Knight and Anthony Stacchi)

How to Train Your Dragon 2 (Bonnie Arnold and DeanDeBlois)

The Lego Movie (Roy Lee, Dan Lin, Phil Lord and Christopher Miller)

The Tale of the Princess Kaguya (Nishimura Yoshiaki, Takahata Isao and Ujiie Seiichiro)

Best Documentary

Citizenfour (Mathilde Bonnefoy, Laura Poitras and Dirk Wilutzky)

Jorodowsky's Dune (Frank Pavich, Stephen Scarlata and Travis Stevens)

Last Days in Vietnam (Rory Kennedy and Keven McAlester)

Life Itself (Garrett Basch, Steve James and Zak Piper)

The Overnighters (Amanda McBaine and Jesse Moss)

Best Foreign Language Film

Force Majeure (Philippe Bober, Erik Hemmendorff, Marie Kjellson and Ruben Ostlund)

Ida (Eric Abraham, Piotr Dzieciol, Pawel Pawlikowski and Ewa Puszczynska)

Leviathan (Sergey Melkumov, Alexander Rodnyansky and Andrey Zvyagintsev)

Mommy (Xavier Dolan and Nancy Grant)

Two Days, One Night (Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne and Denis Freyd)

Image Credit: MovieStillsDB

8 views0 comments


bottom of page