top of page

The 2012 Critics Consensus Award Winners

Joaquin Phoenix in The Master

2012 was a big year for critics' polls, as opposed to critics' awards, in determining the winners of the CCAs. Had polls played no part at all, The Master would still have dominated the nominations stage, but wouldn't have come close to winning Best Picture. It did so, then, at the expense of Zero Dark Thirty, which won every other one of its nominations save Cinematography, providing Kathryn Bigelow with a second Best Director prize in four years. And Mark Boal reverses his 2009 loss to Quentin Tarantino as Tarantino reversed his to Boal at that year's Oscars. Another poll victory came in Holy Motors' Best Picture nod, whereas Amour achieved an easy win in Foreign Language Film - a category ignored entirely by end-of-year polls. And haters rejoice! Nothing for Argo! Check out all the details below.

Best Picture

The Master (Paul Thomas Anderson, Megan Ellison, Daniel Lupi and JoAnne Sellar)

Best Director

Kathryn Bigelow (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Anne Hathaway (Les Miserables)

Best Performane by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)

Best Original Screenplay

Mark Boal (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Tony Kushner (Lincoln)

Best Cinematography

Claudio Miranda (Life of Pi)

Best Editing

William Goldenberg and Dylan Tichenor (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Production Design

Adam Stockhausen (Moonrise Kingdom)

Best Music

Jonny Greenwood (The Master)

Best Ensemble Cast

Jared Gilman, Kara Hayward, Harvey Keitel, Frances McDormand, Bill Murray, Edward Norton, Jason Schwartzman, Tilda Swinton and Bruce Willis (Moonrise Kingdom)

Best Animated Feature

ParaNorman (Chris Butler, Sam Fell, Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner)

Best Documentary

Searching for Sugar Man (Malik Bendjelloul and Simon Chinn)

Best Foreign Language Film

Amour (Stefan Arndt, Michael Haneke, Veit Heiduschka, Michael Katz and Margaret Menegoz)

Image Credit: MovieStillsDB

8 views0 comments


bottom of page