top of page

The 2010 Critics Consensus Award Nominations

Rooney Mara and Jesse Eisenberg in The Social Network

Inevitable, as the Critics Consensus Awards expand, that movies will keep coming along and breaking records for the number of nominations. Most recently, in 2009, I added Production Design. Now, in 2010, a movie beats all that came before it, scoring nine nominations, and doing so without the benefit of a Production Design nod: David Fincher's The Social Network. You likely saw that coming, given how dominant that picture was in the 2010 awards season. Elsewhere, Winter's Bone proves that an expanded Best Picture lineup is not required for female-directed work to be recognized there, while the Coen brothers' True Grit ties with Babel as the most nominated title without a top category mention, earning six nods in other places. And Edgar Ramirez makes the cut for Olivier Assayas' mini-series Carlos, eligible due to the fact that it screened as a feature in its premiere at the Cannes Film Festival, thus rendering its US theatrical release adequate qualification for the CCAs, the first such work to do so. I'll announce the award winners later today, but for now enjoy these nominations:

Best Picture

Black Swan (Darren Aronofsky, Scott Franklin, Mike Medavoy, Arnold Messer and Brian Oliver)

Inception (Christopher Nolan and Emma Thomas)

The King's Speech (Iain Canning, Tom Hooper, Emile Sherman and Gareth Unwin)

The Social Network (Dana Brunetti, Cean Chaffin, Michael de Luca, David Fincher and Scott Rudin)

Winter's Bone (Debra Granik, Alix Madigan and Anne Rosellini)

Best Director

Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan)

Danny Boyle (127 Hours)

David Fincher (The Social Network)

Tom Hooper (The King's Speech)

Christopher Nolan (Inception)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Annette Bening (The Kids Are All Right)

Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole)

Jennifer Lawrence (Winter's Bone)

Natalie Portman (Black Swan)

Michelle Williams (Blue Valentine)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Jeff Bridges (True Grit)

Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network)

Colin Firth (The King's Speech)

James Franco (127 Hours)

Edgar Ramirez (Carlos)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Amy Adams (The Fighter)

Helena Bonham Carter (The King's Speech)

Melissa Leo (The Fighter)

Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit)

Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Christian Bale (The Fighter)

Andrew Garfield (The Social Network)

John Hawkes (Winter's Bone)

Mark Ruffalo (The Kids Are All Right)

Geoffrey Rush (The King's Speech)

Best Original Screenplay

Stuart Blumberg and Lisa Cholodenko (The Kids Are All Right)

Andres Heinz, Mark Heyman and John J. McLaughlin (Black Swan)

Mike Leigh (Another Year)

Christopher Nolan (Inception)

David Seidler (The King's Speech)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3)

Simon Beaufoy and Danny Boyle (127 Hours)

Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (True Grit)

Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini (Winter's Bone)

Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)

Best Cinematography

Enrique Chediak and Anthony Dod Mantle (127 Hours)

Jeff Cronenweth (The Social Network)

Roger Deakins (True Grit)

Matthew Libatique (Black Swan)

Wally Pfister (Inception)

Best Editing

Jonathan Amos and Paul Machliss (Scott Pilgrim vs. the World)

Kirk Baxter and Angus Wall (The Social Network)

Jon Harris (127 Hours)

Lee Smith (Inception)

Andrew Weisblum (Black Swan)

Best Production Design

Therese DePrez (Black Swan)

Guy Hendrix Dyas (Inception)

Jess Gonchor (True Grit)

Eve Stewart (The King's Speech)

Robert Stromberg (Alice in Wonderland)

Best Music

Carter Burwell (True Grit)

Clint Mansell (Black Swan)

A. R. Rahman (127 Hours)

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (The Social Network)

Hans Zimmer (Inception)

Best Ensemble Cast

Amy Adams, Christian Bale, Melissa Leo, Jack McGee and Mark Wahlberg (The Fighter)

Ben Affleck, Owen Burke, George Carroll, Chris Cooper, Rebecca Hall, Jon Hamm, Blake Lively, Pete Postlethwaite, Jeremy Renner and Titus Welliver (The Town)

Annette Bening, Josh Hutcherson, Julianne Moore, Mark Ruffalo and Mia Wasikowska (The Kids Are All Right)

Kevin Breznahan, Dale Dickey, Garret Dillahunt, John Hawkes, Jennifer Lawrence, Sheryl Lee, Casey McLaren, Tate Taylor and Shelley Waggener (Winter's Bone)

Jesse Eisenberg, Andrew Garfield, Armie Hammer, Max Minghella, Josh Pence and Justin Timberlake (The Social Network)

Best Documentary

Exit Through the Gift Shop (Banksy and Jaimie D'Cruz)

Inside Job (Charles Ferguson and Audrey Marrs)

Restrepo (Tim Hetherington and Sebastian Junger)

The Tillman Story (Amir Bar-Lev and John Battsek)

Waiting for 'Superman' (Michael Birtel, Lesley Chilcott and Davis Guggenheim)

Best Foreign Language Film

Biutiful (Fernando Bovaira, Alejandro G. Inarritu and Jon Kilik)

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Niels Arden Oplev and Soren Staermose)

I Am Love (Luca Guadagnino, Francesco Melzi d'Eril, Marco Morabito, Tilda Swinton, Alessandro Usai and Massimiliano Violante)

Mother (Bong Joon Ho, Moon Yang Kwon, Park Tae Joon and Seo Woo Sik)

A Prophet (Jacques Audiard, Lauranne Bourrachot, Martine Cassinelli, Pascal Caucheteux and Marco Cherqui)

Image Credit: MovieStillsDB

6 views0 comments


bottom of page