top of page

The 1992 Critics Consensus Award Winners

Morgan Freeman and Gene Hackman in Unforgiven

Critics found little in need of forgiving in Clint Eastwood's 1992 magnum opus Unforgiven, bestowing upon it enough honours to crown it Best Picture of the year in my Critics Consensus Awards retrospective. They weren't all in for Eastwood, however, with Robert Altman's The Player winning him Best Director, and a Screenplay victory for David Webb Peoples in which he narrowly fought off two formidable contenders. And with his fourth win (first in Supporting Actor), Gene Hackman becomes the CCA's most awarded actor to date, though Woody Allen still leads for wins overall with six. Check out the '92 CCA nominations here, and the winners all below.

Best Picture

Unforgiven (Clint Eastwood)

Best Director

Robert Altman (The Player)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role

Emma Thompson (Howards End)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role

Denzel Washington (Malcolm X)

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role

Judy Davis (Husbands and Wives)

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role

Gene Hackman (Unforgiven)

Best Screenplay

David Webb Peoples (Unforgiven)

Image Credit: MovieStillsDB

16 views0 comments


bottom of page