top of page

2022 St. Louis Film Critics Association awards nominations announced

Updated: Dec 17, 2022

Judith Ivey, Claire Foy, Women Talking, Sarah Polley, St. Louis Film Critics Association
Judith Ivey and Claire Foy in Women Talking

Another boon for The Banshees of Inisherin with the nominations for the St. Louis Film Critics Association's 2022 awards. After winning big with the New York Film Critics Online earlier today, and snagging a few top awards from the Boston Society of Film Critics, Martin McDonagh's new comedy leads the SLFCA nominations with a superb haul of 11. The Fabelmans and Tar both miss out on Best Film mentions, as a pair of female-directed titles break through instead: Maria Schrader's She Said, and Sarah Polley's Women Talking, both of which also enjoying a boost from the St. Louis critics. Winners will be declared a week from now, on 18 December.

Best Film

The Banshees of Inisherin


Everything Everywhere All at Once

She Said

Women Talking

Best Director

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Baz Luhrmann (Elvis)

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Steven Spielberg (The Fabelmans)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Danielle Deadwyler (Till)

Mia Goth (Pearl)

Emma Thompson (Good Luck to You, Leo Grande)

Michelle Williams (The Fabelmans)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Actor

Austin Butler (Elvis)

Daniel Craig (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Best Supporting Actress

Angela Bassett (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Claire Foy (Women Talking)

Janelle Monae (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

Carey Mulligan (She Said)

Best Supporting Actor

Andre Braugher (She Said)

Brendan Gleeson (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Judd Hirsch (The Fabelmans)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Ben Whishaw (Women Talking)

Best Original Screenplay

The Banshees of Inisherin (Martin McDonagh)

Decision to Leave (Jeong Seo Kyeong and Park Chan Wook)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert)

The Fabelmans (Tony Kushner and Steven Spielberg)

The Menu (Seth Reiss and Will Tracy)

Tar (Todd Field)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery (Rian Johnson, based on characters created by him)

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio (Guillermo del Toro, Patrick McHale and Matthew Robbins, based on the novel by Carlo Collodi)

She Said (Rebecca Lenkiewicz, based on the book by Jodi Cantor and Megan Twohey, and on the New York Times investigation by Rebecca Corbett, Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey)

White Noise (Noah Baumbach, based on the novel by Don DeLillo)

Women Talking (Sarah Polley and Miriam Toews, based on the novel by Miriam Toews)

Best Cinematography

The Banshees of Inisherin (Ben Davis)

The Batman (Greig Fraser)

Nope (Hoyte van Hoytema)

Top Gun: Maverick (Claudio Miranda)

Women Talking (Luc Montpellier)

Best Editing

The Banshees of Inisherin (Mikkel E. G. Nielsen)

Elvis (Jonathan Redmond and Matt Villa)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Paul Rogers)

Tar (Monika Willi)

Top Gun: Maverick (Eddie Hamilton)

Best Production Design

Avatar: The Way of Water (Dylan Cole and Ben Procter)

The Banshees of Inisherin (Mark Tildesley)

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Hannah Beachler)

Elvis (Catherine Martin and Karen Murphy)

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery (Rick Heinrichs)

Best Costume Design

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Ruth E. Carter)

Elvis (Catherine Martin)

The Fabelmans (Mark Bridges)

Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris (Jenny Beavan)

The Woman King (Gersha Phillips)

Best Visual Effects

Avatar: The Way of Water (Richard Baneham, Daniel Barrett, Joe Letteri and Eric Saindon)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Benjamin Brewer, Jeff Desom, Ethan Feldbau and Zak Stoltz)

Nope (Scott R. Fisher, Jeremy Robert, Guillaume Rocheron and Sreejith Venugopalan)

RRR (V. Srinivas Mohan)

Top Gun: Maverick (Scott R. Fisher, Seth Hill, Bryan Litton and Ryan Tudhope)

Best Musical Score

Babylon (Justin Hurwitz)

The Banshees of Inisherin (Carter Burwell)

The Batman (Michael Giacchino)

The Fabelmans (John Williams)

Women Talking (Hildur Gudnadottir)

Best Soundtrack

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever


Moonage Daydream

Top Gun: Maverick

Weird: The Al Yankovic Story

Best Ensemble

The Banshees of Inisherin

Everything Everywhere All at Once

The Fabelmans

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

Women Talking

Best Animated Film

Apollo 10 1/2: A Space Age Childhood

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio

Marcel the Shell with Shoes On

Turning Red

Wendell & Wild

Best Documentary

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

Fire of Love

Good Night Oppy

Moonage Daydream


Best International Feature

All Quiet on the Western Front


Decision to Leave



Best Action Film

Avatar: The Way of Water

Everything Everywhere All at Once


Top Gun: Maverick

The Woman King

Best Comedy

Everything Everywhere All at Once

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

Jackass Forever

The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent

Weird: The Al Yankovic Story

Best Horror Film






Best Scene

"Gordy's Home" (Nope)

"Ice Man / Maverick visit" (Top Gun: Maverick)

"Lydia bullying Juilliard student" (Tar)

"Marcel / 60 Minutes" (Marcel the Shell with Shoes On)

"Piggyback prison escape" (RRR)

"Sam meets his idol" (The Fabelmans)


bottom of page