top of page

Society of Composers and Lyricists announces first ever award nominations

For years now the closest thing Hollywood has had to a guild for composers and songwriters, the Society of Composers and Lyricists has long declined to provide year-end award nominations as its fellow industry unions commonly do nowadays. That, however, has changed this year, as the SCL announces its inaugural slate of nominees for visual media. Movie-wise, it's a fairly concise set, unlike many guilds which choose to nominate artists across multiple categories, but kudos to the SCL for setting aside a separate category for independent film. Award winners will be announced on the 7th of January.

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film

Michael Abels (Us)

Michael Giacchino (Jojo Rabbit)

Hildur Gudnadottir (Joker)

John Powell (How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World)

Alan Silvestri (Avengers: Endgame)

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film

Jeff Beal (The Biggest Little Farm)

Kathryn Bostic (Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am)

Alberto Iglesias (Pain & Glory)

Howard Shore (The Song of Names)

Gabriel Yared (Judy)

Outstanding Original Song for Visual Media

Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez - 'Into The Unknown' (Frozen II)

Kathryn Bostic - 'High Above The Water' (Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am)

Joshua Brian Campbell and Cynthia Erivo - 'Stand Up' (Harriet)

Alan Menken, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul - 'Speechless' (Aladdin)

Diane Warren - 'I'm Standing With You' (Breakthrough)

Spirit of Collaboration Award


Image credit: MovieStillsDB

11 views0 comments


bottom of page