top of page

Shock Award Winners At The WGA Awards

Richard E. Grant and Melissa McCarthy in Can You Ever Forgive Me?

The perceived Oscar frontrunner for Best Original Screenplay, The Favourite, wasn't eligible for a nomination from the Writers' Guild of America, so it looked like that race was between its two fiercest competitors, Green Book and Vice. Alas, no, as for the first time since the inception of the WGA's single original category, a non-Oscar nominated movie won (not counting the time Bowling for Columbine won, as documentaries are automatically considered adapted screenplays by the Academy). Bo Burnham now has both a DGA award and a WGA award for his first movie work, and that fucker's not even two months older than me fml. This might mean, looking ahead to this weekend's Oscars, that The Favourite has it in the bag for Original Screenplay, now that the buzz on its competitors has pretty much fizzled out entirely. Adapted, however, is arguably even harder to call though, as Can You Ever Forgive Me? joins BlacKkKlansman, If Beale Street Could Talk and another non-Oscar nominee, Leave No Trace, in winning a major screenplay prize. Check out the WGA's 2018 award nominees here, and their winners below.

Best Original Screenplay

Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Best Documentary Screenplay

Ozzy Inguanzo and Dava Whisenant (Bathtubs Over Broadway)

Image Credit: MovieStillsDB

10 views0 comments


bottom of page