top of page

San Diego Film Critics Society Announces 2018 Award Nominations

Thomasin McKenzie and Ben Foster in Leave No Trace

One can always rely on the San Diego Film Critics Society to shit all over awards season, even if the impact it has is rarely greater than a temporary little brown stain. Or is that an orange stain? Green Book racks up an astonishing nine nominations (don't worry, it won't get close to that with the Academy), The Ballad of Buster Scruggs receives a remarkable boost with seven, and poor Roma and A Star Is Born only muster up five between them! And in case you're wondering whether or not members saw If Beale Street Could Talk, I'd put way too much money on betting that they did! Always cute to witness an ensemble of 'critics' express themselves purely and honestly, right? Ftr, though, I'm nothing short of delighted at the major category success of Leave No Trace. Winners will be announced on Monday, the 10th of December.

Best Picture

The Ballad of Buster Scruggs

The Favourite

Green Book

Leave No Trace

A Quiet Place

Best Director

Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)

Peter Farrelly (Green Book)

Debra Granik (Leave No Trace)

John Krasinski (A Quiet Place)

Yorgos Lanthimos (The Favourite)

Best Actor, Female

Glenn Close (The Wife)

Elsie Fisher (Eighth Grade)

Lady Gaga (A Star Is Born)

Melissa McCarthy (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Carey Mulligan (Wildlife)

Best Actor, Male

Christian Bale (Vice)

Ethan Hawke (First Reformed)

Lucas Hedges (Boy Erased)

Viggo Mortensen (Green Book)

John C. Reilly (The Sisters Brothers)

Best Supporting Actor, Female

Nina Arianda (Stan & Ollie)

Zoe Kazan (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs)

Nicole Kidman (Boy Erased)

Thomasin McKenzie (Leave No Trace)

Alia Shawkat (Blaze)

Best Supporting Actor, Male

Mahershala Ali (Green Book)

Timothee Chalamet (Beautiful Boy)

Joel Edgerton (Boy Erased)

Sam Elliott (A Star Is Born)

Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

Best Original Screenplay

Wes Anderson (Isle of Dogs)

Scott Beck, John Krasinski and Bryan Woods (A Quiet Place)

Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)

Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs)

Peter Farrelly, Brian Hayes Currie and Nick Vallelonga (Green Book)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Joel Edgerton (Boy Erased)

Peter Fellows, Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, Fabien Nury and David Schneider (The Death of Stalin)

Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini (Leave No Trace)

Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

David Lowery (The Old Man & the Gun)

Best Cinematography

Alfonso Cuaron (Roma)

Bruno Delbonnel (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs)

Alexander Dynan (First Reformed)

Magnus Nordenhof Jonck (Lean on Pete)

Joshua James Richards (The Rider)

Best Editing

Ethan Coen and Joel Coen (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs)

Patrick J. Don Vito (Green Book)

David Egan and Jamie Gross (Game Night)

Yorgos Mavropsaridis (The Favourite)

Christopher Tellefsen (A Quiet Place)

Best Production Design

Hannah Beachler (Black Panther)

Fiona Crombie (The Favourite)

Tim Galvin (Green Book)

John Paul Kelly (Stan & Ollie)

Adam Stockhausen (Ready Player One)

Best Costume Design

Lindy Hemming (Paddington 2)

Sandy Powell (The Favourite)

Guy Speranza (Stan & Ollie)

Mary E. Vogt (Crazy Rich Asians)

Mary Zophres (The Ballad of Buster Scruggs)

Best Visual Effects

Black Panther

Christopher Robin

Isle of Dogs

Paddington 2

Ready Player One

Best Use of Music in a Film

Bad Times at the El Royale


Bohemian Rhapsody

Green Book

A Star Is Born

Best Ensemble

The Ballad of Buster Scruggs

Boy Erased

The Favourite

Game Night

Green Book

Best Animated Film

Have a Nice Day

Incredibles 2

Isle of Dogs

Ralph Breaks the Internet

Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse

Best Documentary

Free Solo

Love, Gilda


Three Identical Strangers

Won't You Be My Neighbour?

Best Foreign-Language Film


Cold War

The Guilty



Best Comedic Performance

Awkwafina (Crazy Rich Asians)

Jason Bateman (Game Night)

Hugh Grant (Paddington 2)

Jesse Plemons (Game Night)

Ryan Reynolds (Deadpool 2)

Best Breakout Artist

Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)

Elsie Fisher (Eighth Grade)

Rami Malek (Bohemian Rhapsody)

Thomasin McKenzie (Leave No Trace)

Charlie Plummer (Lean on Pete)

8 views0 comments


bottom of page