top of page

Saint Maud leads 2020 London Critics' Circle Film Awards nominations

Morfydd Clark in Rose Glass' Saint Maud
Morfydd Clark in Saint Maud

You can always trust the London critics to know what's up. That said, the COVID-19 pandemic has led to a rather different picture of the film industry east of the Atlantic to that west of the Atlantic, meaning, sadly, no First Cow, no Never Rarely Sometimes Always, no One Night in Miami among the 2020 London Critics' Circle Film Awards nominations (the first two are still without UK distribution; the third was just unfortunately snubbed here). Nevertheless, the LCC's Film of the Year lineup is an impressive one, with three titles not predominantly in the English language - in a year notably short on non-English language contenders overall - and four directed by women. One of those, Rose Glass' debut Saint Maud, leads with eight mentions, recalling its similarly strong haul late last year at the BIFA nominations, where it too leads. Winners will be announced at a virtual ceremony on the 7th of February.

FILM OF THE YEAR About Endlessness Collective I’m Thinking of Ending Things Lovers Rock The Mauritanian Minari Nomadland Promising Young Woman Rocks Saint Maud

FOREIGN-LANGUAGE FILM OF THE YEAR About Endlessness Another Round Collective Les Misérables Minari DOCUMENTARY OF THE YEAR Bloody Nose, Empty Pockets Collective Dick Johnson Is Dead Time The Truffle Hunters THE ATTENBOROUGH AWARD FOR BRITISH/IRISH FILM OF THE YEAR The Father Lovers Rock Mangrove Rocks Saint Maud

DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR David Fincher – Mank Rose Glass – Saint Maud Kevin Macdonald – The Mauritanian Steve McQueen – Small Axe Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

SCREENWRITER OF THE YEAR Jack Fincher – Mank Rose Glass – Saint Maud Charlie Kaufman – I’m Thinking of Ending Things Aaron Sorkin – The Trial of the Chicago 7 Chloé Zhao – Nomadland

ACTRESS OF THE YEAR Morfydd Clark – Saint Maud Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman Frances McDormand – Nomadland Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

ACTOR OF THE YEAR Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom Anthony Hopkins – The Father Delroy Lindo – Da 5 Bloods Tahar Rahim – The Mauritanian

SUPPORTING ACTRESS OF THE YEAR Maria Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm Ellen Burstyn – Pieces of a Woman Essie Davis – Babyteeth Jennifer Ehle – Saint Maud Amanda Seyfried – Mank

SUPPORTING ACTOR OF THE YEAR Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7 Chadwick Boseman – Da 5 Bloods Aldis Hodge – Clemency Ben Mendelsohn – Babyteeth Shaun Parkes – Mangrove

BRITISH/IRISH ACTRESS OF THE YEAR Bukky Bakray – Rocks Jessie Buckley – I’m Thinking of Ending Things / Misbehaviour Morfydd Clark – Eternal Beauty / Saint Maud Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman / The World to Come Carey Mulligan – The Dig / Promising Young Woman

BRITISH/IRISH ACTOR OF THE YEAR Riz Ahmed – Mogul Mowgli / Sound of Metal Sacha Baron Cohen – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm / The Trial of the Chicago 7 John Boyega – Red, White and Blue Anthony Hopkins – The Father Cosmo Jarvis – Calm With Horses / Nocturnal

THE PHILIP FRENCH AWARD FOR BREAKTHROUGH BRITISH/IRISH FILMMAKER Henry Blake – County Lines Fyzal Boulifa – Lynn + Lucy Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman Rose Glass – Saint Maud Remi Weekes – His House

YOUNG BRITISH/IRISH PERFORMER Kosar Ali – Rocks Bukky Bakray – Rocks Millie Bobby Brown – Enola Holmes Conrad Khan – County Lines Molly Windsor – Make Up

BRITISH/IRISH SHORT FILM Filipiñana – Rafael Manuel, director Hungry Joe – Paul Holbrook, director Lizard – Akinola Davies Jr., director The Long Goodbye – Aneil Karia, director The Shift – Laura Carreira, director

TECHNICAL ACHIEVEMENT Ammonite – Stéphane Fontaine, cinematography Birds of Prey: and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn – Deborah LaMia Denaver and Adruitha Lee, makeup and hair Lovers Rock – Mica Levi, music Mank – Donald Graham Burt, production design Nomadland – Joshua James Richards, cinematography Rocks – Lucy Pardee, casting Soul – Pete Docter, animation Sound of Metal – Nicolas Becker, sound design Tenet – Jennifer Lame, film editing WolfWalkers – Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart, animation

11 views0 comments
bottom of page