top of page

Online Association of Female Film Critics announces 2020/21 awards nominations

Updated: Mar 1, 2021

John Magaro in Kelly Reichardt's First Cow
John Magaro in First Cow

As we come toward the end of one of the quietest weeks of the current awards season, approaching a Sunday that will instead host the Golden Globes, not what would traditionally have occupied the final Sunday in February - the Oscars - the Online Association of Female Film Critics has rung in with their nominations for the best achievements in film of the past 14 months. It's a strong slate overall with some nice choices, including substantial love for First Cow, and an all-female Best Breakthrough Filmmaker list, though the OAFFC's appraisal of Tahar Rahim's turn in The Mauritanian as "breakthrough" is... odd. Winners will be announced on the 1st of March.

Best Film

First Cow



One Night in Miami

Promising Young Woman

Best Director

Lee Isaac Chung - Minari

Emerald Fennell - Promising Young Woman

Regina King - One Night in Miami

Kelly Reichardt - First Cow

Chloe Zhao - Nomadland

Best Female Lead

Viola Davis - Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Vanessa Kirby - Pieces of a Woman

Frances McDormand - Nomadland

Elisabeth Moss - The Invisible Man

Carey Mulligan - Promising Young Woman

Best Male Lead

Riz Ahmed - Sound of Metal

Chadwick Boseman - Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

Delroy Lindo - Da 5 Bloods

Mads Mikkelsen - Another Round

Steven Yeun - Minari

Best Supporting Female

Maria Bakalova - Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

Ellen Burstyn - Pieces of a Woman

Dominque Fishback - Judas and the Black Messiah

Amanda Seyfried - Mank

Youn Yuh Jung - Minari

Best Supporting Male

Sacha Baron Cohen - The Trial of the Chicago 7

Daniel Kaluuya - Judas and the Black Messiah

Bill Murray - On the Rocks

Leslie Odom Jr. - One Night in Miami

Paul Raci - Sound of Metal

Best Acting Ensemble

Da 5 Bloods

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom


One Night in Miami

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Original Screenplay

Lee Isaac Chung - Minari

Emerald Fennell - Promising Young Woman

Eliza Hittman - Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Miranda July - Kajillionaire

Andy Siara - Palm Springs

Best Adapted Screenplay

Sarah Gubbins - Shirley

Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller - The Father

Charlie Kaufman - I'm Thinking Of Ending Things

Kemp Powers - One Night In Miami

Chloe Zhao - Nomadland

Best Documentary


Dick Johnson Is Dead

The Mole Agent

The Painter and the Thief


Best Animated Feature


Over the Moon

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon



Best Cinematography

Christopher Blauvelt - First Cow

Stephane Fontaine - Ammonite

Matthew Libatique - Birds of Prey: and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn

Erik Messerschmidt - Mank

Joshua James Richards - Nomadland

Best Breakthrough Filmmaker

Radha Blank - The Forty-Year-Old Version

Emerald Fennell - Promising Young Woman

Kitty Green - The Assistant

Natalie Erika James - Relic

Channing Godfrey Peoples - Miss Juneteenth

Best Breakthrough Performance

Kingsley Ben-Adir - One Night in Miami

Sidney Flanigan - Never Rarely Sometimes Always

Orion Lee - First Cow

Cristin Milioti - Palm Springs

Tahar Rahim - The Mauritanian

THE ROSIE (The OAFFC’s signature award celebrates the film that “best promotes women, their voices, and the female experience through cinema”)

The Assistant

The Forty-Year-Old Version

Never Rarely Sometimes Always


Promising Young Woman


bottom of page