top of page

North Texas Film Critics Association announces 2020 award winners

Frances McDormand in Chloe Zhao's Nomadland
Frances McDormand in Nomadland

Hot on the heels of Film Independent and the National Board of Review, the rather smaller North Texas Film Critics Association has chosen today to announce its 2020 award winners. Following their nominations announcement just two days ago, they've selected three prizes for Chloe Zhao's Nomadland, including Best Picture and Best Director. Star Frances McDormand misses out on Best Actress, which goes to Promising Young Woman's Carey Mulligan, while Minari's Steven Yeun wins his first Best Actor prize of the season.

Best Picture


Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Actress

Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Best Actor

Steven Yeun (Minari)

Best Supporting Actress

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Supporting Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Best Cinematography

Hoyte van Hoytema (Tenet)

Gary Murray Award for Best Ensemble

The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Animated Film


Best Documentary

All In: The Fight for Democracy

Best Foreign Language Film


Best Newcomer

Linda May (Nomadland)


bottom of page