top of page

North Dakota Film Society announces 2022 awards nominations

Updated: Jan 10, 2023

Cate Blanchett, Tar, Todd Field, North Dakota Film Society
Cate Blanchett in Tar

There's a quintuplet of big hitters up for the North Dakota Film Society's Best Picture award for 2022. The group has just announced the nominees for its awards for last year, and they've thrown the lion's share of their mentions to these five titles. The Banshees of Inisherin and Everything Everywhere All at Once lead with nine nods each, Tar follows right behind them with a very strong eight, Babylon proves popular here with seven, and Aftersun puts in one of its best performances so far this awards season with six. Also doing very well is All Quiet on the Western Front, which picks up six nominations. I have one thing to say, though: where are all the Black people...?! Winners are due to be announced on 16 January.

Best Picture

Aftersun (Mark Ceryak, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins and Adele Romanski)

Babylon (Olivia Hamilton, Marc Platt and Matt Plouffe)

The Banshees of Inisherin (Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin and Martin McDonagh)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Dan Kwan, Mike Larocca, Daniel Scheinert and Jonathan Wang)

Tar (Todd Field, Scott Lambert and Alexandra Milchan)

Best Director

Todd Field (Tar)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Steven Spielberg (The Fabelmans)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Mia Goth (Pearl)

Margot Robbie (Babylon)

Taylor Russell (Bones and All)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Actor

Austin Butler (Elvis)

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

Felix Kammerer (All Quiet on the Western Front)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Best Supporting Actress

Chau Hong (The Whale)

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Jamie Lee Curtis (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Dolly de Leon (Triangle of Sadness)

Nina Hoss (Tar)

Best Supporting Actor

Brendan Gleeson (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Barry Keoghan (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Rory Kinnear (Men)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Mark Rylance (Bones and All)

Best Screenplay

Aftersun (Charlotte Wells)

The Banshees of Inisherin (Martin McDonagh)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert)

The Fabelmans (Tony Kushner and Steven Spielberg)

Tar (Todd Field)

Best Cinematography

Aftersun (Gregory Oke)

All Quiet on the Western Front (James Friend)

The Banshees of Inisherin (Ben Davis)

Tar (Florian Hoffmeister)

Top Gun: Maverick (Claudio Miranda)

Best Film Editing

Aftersun (Blair McClendon)

The Banshees of Inisherin (Mikkel E. G. Nielsen)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Paul Rogers)

Tar (Monika Willi)

Top Gun: Maverick (Eddie Hamilton)

Best Production Design

Avatar: The Way of Water (Dylan Cole, Vanessa Cole and Ben Procter)

Babylon (Anthony Carlino and Florencia Martin)

Elvis (Beverley Dunn, Catherine Martin and Karen Murphy)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Kelsi Ephraim and Jason Kisvarday)

The Northman (Niamh Coulter and Craig Lathrop)

Best Costume Design

Babylon (Mary Zophres)

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Ruth E. Carter)

Corsage (Monika Buttinger)

Don't Worry Darling (Arianne Phillips)

Elvis (Catherine Martin)

Best Sound

All Quiet on the Western Front (Lars Ginzel, Frank Kruse, Viktor Prasil and Markus Stemler)

Avatar: The Way of Water (Christopher Boyes, Mike Hedges, Julian Howarth, Tony Johnson, Gary Summers and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle)

Babylon (Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Lee Ai Ling, Steven Morrow and Andy Nelson)

Tar (Deb Adair, Stephen Griffiths, Andy Shelley, Steve Single and Roland Winke)

Top Gun: Maverick (Chris Burdon, James H. Mather, Al Nelson, Mark Taylor and Mark Weingarten)

Best Visual Effects

All Quiet on the Western Front (Markus Frank, Kamil Jafar, Viktor Muller and Frank Petzold)

Avatar: The Way of Water (Richard Baneham, Daniel Barrett, Joe Letteri and Eric Saindon)

Everything Everywhere All at Once (Benjamin Brewer, Jeff Desom, Ethan Feldbau and Zak Stoltz)

Nope (Scott R. Fisher, Jeremy Robert, Guillaume Rocheron and Sreejith Venugopalan)

Top Gun: Maverick (Scott R. Fisher, Seth Hill, Bryan Litson and Ryan Tudhope)

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

All Quiet on the Western Front (Heike Merker)

Babylon (Jamie Leigh McIntosh and Heba Thorisdottir)

Elvis (Jason Baird, Mark Coulier, Louise Coulston and Shane Thomas)

The Whale (Anne Marie Bradley, Judy Chin and Adrien Morot)

X (Sarah Rubano)

Best Original Score

Babylon (Justin Hurwitz)

Bones and All (Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross)

The Fabelmans (John Williams)

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio (Alexandre Desplat)

Women Talking (Hildur Gudnadottir)

Best Original Song

"Ciao Papa" - Guillermo del Toro, Alexandre Desplat and Roeban Katz (Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio)

"Hold My Hand" - BloodPop and Lady Gaga (Top Gun: Maverick)

"Naatu Naatu" - Kaala Bhairava, M. M. Keeravani and Rahul Sipligunj (RRR)

"New Body Rhumba" - LCD Soundsystem (White Noise)

"(You Made It Feel Like) Home" - Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Bones and All)

Best Animated Feature

Apollo 10 1/2: A Space Age Childhood (Mike Blizzard, Bruno Felix, Richard Linklater, Tommy Pallotta and Femke Wolting)

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio (Alexander Bulkley, Corey Campodonico, Guillermo del Toro, Lisa Henson and Gary Ungar)

Mad God (Phil Tippett)

Marcel the Shell with Shoes On (Dean Fleischer-Camp, Andrew Goldman, Elisabeth Holm, Caroline Kaplan and Paul Mezey)

Turning Red (Lindsey Collins)

Best Documentary Feature

All That Breathes (Teddy Leifer, Aman Mann and Shaunak Sen)

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed (Howard Gertler, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov, John S. Lyons and Laura Poitras)

Bad Axe (Jude Harris, Diane-Moy Quon, David Siev and Katarina Vasquez)

Fire of Love (Shane Boris, Sara Dosa and Ina Fichman)

Moonage Daydream (Brett Morgen)

Best International Feature

All Quiet on the Western Front - Germany

Corsage - Austria

Decision to Leave - South Korea

EO - Poland

The Quiet Girl - Ireland


bottom of page