top of page

Nomadland wins six Alliance of Women Film Journalists awards

Frances McDormand in Chloe Zhao's Nomadland
Frances McDormand in Nomadland

Nomadland really wiped the floor with the competition at the Alliance of Women Film Journalists awards this year. It won across all six Best Of categories where it was nominated, trouncing its competitors in an exceptionally strong year for female representation on the awards circuit. That left other female-directed nominees with mere scraps - only Promising Young Woman could rustle up a top category win for its filmmaker in Original Screenplay. Check out the results in full below.

AWFJ Best Of Awards

Best Film


Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami)

Best Screenplay, Original

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Screenplay, Adapted

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Animated Film


Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Editing

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Documentary

All In: The Fight for Democracy

The Painter and the Thief

Best Non-English Language Film

Another Round - Denmark

Best Ensemble Cast / Casting Director

Kimberly Hardin (One Night in Miami)

Francine Maisler (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

EDA Female Focus Awards

Best Woman Director

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Woman Screenwriter

Radha Blank (The Forty-Year-Old Version)

Best Animated Female

Tina Fey - "22" (Soul)

Best Woman's Breakthrough Performance

Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Film Industry

All indie female writers and directors who normalized abortion as a vital element in the cultural conversation in films such as Saint Frances, Never Rarely Sometimes Always, Sister of the Groom, Once Upon a River, The Glorias and others

EDA Special Mention Awards

Grand Dame Award for Defying Ageism

Sophia Loren (The Life Ahead)

Most Egregious Lovers' Age Difference Award

Kenneth Branagh and Elizabeth Debicki - 30 years (Tenet)

She Deserves a New Agent Award

Uma Thurman (The War with Grandpa)

Most Daring Performance Award

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Award


AWFJ Hall of Shame Award

Christopher Nolan for insisting that Tenet be screened exclusively in theatres during a pandemic

Dallas Sonnier and Adam Donaghey at Cinestate for sexual harassment, abuse and cover-up


bottom of page