top of page

Nomadland wins five Seattle Film Critics Society awards

Linda May in Chloe Zhao's Nomadland
Linda May in Nomadland

I'm running out of comments about this season's critics awards, since they're generally coalescing around the same few candidates for each of the top prizes (this happens every year though). So it's five more awards for Nomadland, today from the Seattle Film Critics Society. Minari, Promising Young Woman, Sound of Metal... the usual suspects. The SFCS' 2020/21 award nominations are here.

Best Picture

Nomadland (Chloe Zhao)

Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Best Supporting Actress

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Best Screenplay

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Film Editing

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Production Design

Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale (Mank)

Best Costume Design

Ann Roth (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Best Visual Effects

Mike Chambers, Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson and Andrew Lockley (Tenet)

Best Original Score

Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Soul)

Best Ensemble Cast / Casting Director

Kim Coleman (Da 5 Bloods)

Best Action Choreography


Best Animated Feature

Wolfwalkers (Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart)

Best Documentary Feature

The History of the Seattle Mariners (Jon Bois)

Best Film Not in the English Language

Minari (Lee Isaac Chung)

Best Youth Performance

Alan S. Kim (Minari)

Villain of the Year

Oliver Jackson-Cohen - 'The Invisible Man / Adrian Griffin' (The Invisible Man)


bottom of page