top of page

Nomadland wins five awards from Washington, DC critics

Frances McDormand in Chloe Zhao's Nomadland
Frances McDormand in Nomadland

Yet more critics' awards for Chloe Zhao's Nomadland in today's announcement of the Washington, DC Area Film Critics award winners. It takes five prizes including Best Film, Director, and Actress and Frances McDormand. Ma Rainey's Black Bottom's Chadwick Boseman wins Best Actor, while the strangest award winner of the season to date shows up in Wonder Woman 1984 taking WAFCA's Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC. Check out the 2020/21 WAFCA award nominations at this link.

Best Film


Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Best Supporting Actress

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Supporting Actor

Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami)

Best Original Screenplay

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland) - based on the book by Jessica Bruder

Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Editing

Jennifer Lame (Tenet)

Best Production Design

Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale (Mank)

Best Original Score

Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Soul)

Best Acting Ensemble

One Night in Miami

Best Animated Feature


Best Documentary

Boys State

Best International/Foreign Language Film

Another Round

Best Youth Performance

Alan S. Kim (Minari)

Best Voice Performance

Jamie Foxx (Soul)

The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC

Wonder Woman 1984


bottom of page