top of page

Nomadland wins Best Picture at Las Vegas Film Critics Society 2020/21 awards

Frances McDormand in Chloe Zhao's Nomadland
Frances McDormand in Nomadland

Yet another Best Picture win in the bag for Chloe Zhao's Nomadland as today it picks up the top prize from the Las Vegas Film Critics Society's annual awards. The film wins in four of the LVFCS' categories, with Best Picture runner-up Sound of Metal winning in two categories, and Judas and the Black Messiah in three. With more awards than even the Oscars, these critics sure do like to hand out honours!

Best Picture

  1. Nomadland

  2. Sound of Metal

  3. Promising Young Woman

  4. Minari

  5. The Outpost

  6. Selah and the Spades

  7. Da 5 Bloods

  8. Mank

  9. Judas and the Black Messiah

  10. The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Best Supporting Actress

Amanda Seyfried (Mank)

Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Best Original Screenplay

Will Berson and Shaka King (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Kemp Powers (One Night in Miami)

Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Film Editing

Mikkel E. G. Nielsen (Sound of Metal)

Best Art Direction


Best Costume Design

Ann Roth (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Best Visual Effects

The Invisible Man

Best Score

Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Soul)

Best Song

D'Mile, H.E.R. and Tiara Thomas - "Fight for You" (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Best Animated Film


Best Documentary

Boys State

Best Foreign Film

Another Round - Denmark

Best Action Film

Birds of Prey: and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn

Best Comedy

Palm Springs

Best Family Film


Best Horror/Sci-Fi

The Invisible Man

Breakout Filmmaker Award

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Female Youth Performance

Millie Bobby Brown (Enola Holmes)

Best Male Youth Performance

Alan S. Kim (Minari)

William Holden Lifetime Achievement Award

Rita Moreno


bottom of page