top of page

Nomadland wins 5 North Dakota Film Society awards

Frances McDormand in Chloe Zhao's Nomadland
Frances McDormand in Nomadland

The North Dakota Film Society has decided on the winners of its 2020 awards, and you'll never guess who's ended up on top! Chloe Zhao's Nomadland wins five NDFS prizes including Best Picture, Director, and Actress for star Frances McDormand. Nominations leader Mank takes a couple of tech prizes, and acting awards also go to Riz Ahmed, Maria Bakalova and potential new Oscar frontrunner Sacha Baron Cohen. Check out the society's nominations right here.

Best Picture

Nomadland (Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances McDormand, Peter Spears and Chloe Zhao)

Runner-up: First Cow / I'm Thinking of Ending Things

Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Runner-up: David Fincher (Mank)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Runner-up: Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Best Actor

Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Runner-up: Delroy Lindo (Da 5 Bloods)

Best Supporting Actress

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Runner-up: Ellen Burstyn (Pieces of a Woman) / Amanda Seyfried (Mank) / Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Supporting Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Runner-up: Orion Lee (First Cow)

Best Screenplay

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Runner-up: I'm Thinking of Ending Things

Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Runner-up: Mank

Best Film Editing

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Runner-up: Tenet

Best Production Design

Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale (Mank)

Runner-up: The Personal History of David Copperfield

Best Original Score

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Mank)

Runner-up: Soul

Best Original Song

Erran Baron Cohen, Sacha Baron Cohen, Peter Baynham, Jena Friedman, Anthony Hines, Jerry Holleman, Erica Rivinoja, Jim Russell and Dan Swimer - "Wuhan Flu" (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Runner-up: "Rocket to the Moon" (Over the Moon)

Best Animated Feature

Soul (Pete Docter, Dana Murray and Kemp Powers)

Runner-up: Wolfwalkers

Best Documentary Feature

All In: The Fight for Democracy (Stacey Abrams, Dan Cogan, Lisa Cortes and Liz Garbus)

Runner-up: Dick Johnson Is Dead

Best International Feature

And Then We Danced (Levan Akin) - Georgia

Runner-up: Beanpole / Collective


bottom of page