top of page

Nomadland leads 2020 Online Film Critics Society award winners

Frances McDormand in Chloe Zhao's Nomadland
Frances McDormand in Nomadland

In recent years, the Online Film Critics Society has increasingly fallen in line with the critical consensus in their year-end awards, and 2020 is no exception. They've selected Chloe Zhao's Nomadland as the best film of the year, also honouring it with five further awards, including three for Zhao herself. Star Frances McDormand wins another Best Actress award, while Best Actor goes to Delroy Lindo from Da 5 Bloods, which led last week's nominations.

Best Film

  1. Nomadland

  2. Da 5 Bloods

  3. Promising Young Woman

  4. Never Rarely Sometimes Always

  5. First Cow

  6. Minari

  7. Sound of Metal

  8. I'm Thinking of Ending Things

  9. Soul

  10. The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Best Actor

Delroy Lindo (Da 5 Bloods)

Best Supporting Actress

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Best Supporting Actor

Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami)

Best Original Screenplay

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Editing

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Original Score

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Soul)

Technical Achievement Award

Emma. - costume design

The Invisible Man - visual effects

Mank - production design

Sound of Metal - sound design

Tenet - visual effects

Best Animated Feature


Best Documentary

Dick Johnson Is Dead

Best Film Not in the English Language

Minari (United States)

Best Debut Feature

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Best Non-United States Release

A Beast in Love (Japan)

The Disciple (India)

Ghosts (Turkey)

Mogul Mowgli (United Kingdom)

New Order (Mexico)

Notturno (Italy)

Rocks (United Kingdom)

Saint Maud (United Kingdom)

Summer of 85 (France)

Undine (Germany)

Special Achievement Award

The independent theatre entities that participated in presenting "Virtual Cinema" when forced to close due to the pandemic. Films that otherwise may not have been seen were made available through online platforms, with ticket prices shared by the distributor with the theatre.

Kino Lorber

Small Axe

Lifetime Achievement Award

Rob Bottin - makeup

David Byrne - composing

Jane Fonda - acting

Jean-Luc Godard - directing

Frederick Wiseman - documentary


bottom of page