top of page

Nicholas Britell scores 3 Society of Composers and Lyricists award nominations

Leonardo DiCaprio, Jennifer Lawrence, Don't Look Up, Adam McKay, Society of Composers and Lyricists
Leonardo DiCaprio and Jennifer Lawrence in Don't Look Up

And so awards season takes a decisive turn, as we leave behind the early days of critics' awards, lists and polls and nothing but, and enter a phase where said announcements intermingle with industry awards. If you're an avid Oscar predictor, these are the ones to pay close attention to. Today, we discover the nominees for the Society of Composers and Lyricists' 2021 awards, with big success for one of film & TV's hottest composers: Nicholas Britell earns three nods across three categories - two for Don't Look Up, and a further mention for TV's Succession (not listed below, as I only focus on film fare). But it may be Jonny Greenwood who walks home with the most gold when the SCL announces its award winners on the 1st of February, as the Radiohead star lands nominations in separate categories for both The Power of the Dog and Spencer.

Outstanding Original Score for a Studio Film

Nicholas Britell (DON'T LOOK UP)

Alexandre Desplat (THE FRENCH DISPATCH)

Germaine Franco (ENCANTO)

Jonny Greenwood (THE POWER OF THE DOG)

Hans Zimmer (DUNE)

Outstanding Original Score for an Independent Film

Jonny Greenwood (SPENCER)


Alberto Iglesias (PARALLEL MOTHERS)

Rachel Portman (JULIA)


Outstanding Original Song for a Dramatic or Documentary Visual Media Production

Billie Eilish and Finneas O'Connell - "No Time to Die" (NO TIME TO DIE)

Jeymes Samuel, with Jay-Z and Kid Cudi - "Guns Go Bang" (THE HARDER THEY FALL)

Rufus Wainwright - "Secret Sister" (REBEL HEARTS)

Diane Warren - "(Never Gonna) Tame You" (THE MUSTANGS: AMERICA'S WILD HORSES)

Diane Warren - "Somehow You Do" (FOUR GOOD DAYS)

Outstanding Original Song for a Comedy or Musical Visual Media Production

Kris Bowers and Siedah Garrett - "Together All the Way" (DEAR WHITE PEOPLE)

Nicholas Britell and Taura Stinson, with Ariana Grande and Kid Cudi - "Just Look Up" (DON'T LOOK UP)

Amie Doherty - "Fearless" (SPIRIT UNTAMED)

Jamie Hartman, Jennifer Hudson and Carole King - "Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)" (RESPECT)

Lin-Manuel Miranda - "Home All Summer" (IN THE HEIGHTS)

Spirit of Collaboration Award

Carter Burwell with Ethan Coen and Joel Coen


bottom of page