top of page

Minari leads 2020/21 GALECA Dorian Award nominations

Updated: Apr 19, 2021

Steven Yeun and Alan S. Kim in Lee Isaac Chung's Minari
Steven Yeun and Alan S. Kim in Minari

The Gay and Lesbian Entertainment Critics Association has announced its Dorian Award nominees for the 2020/21 movie season. Lee Isaac Chung's acclaimed family drama Minari leads the field with six nominations including three mentions for individual ensemble members. The Best Director field is comprised of just one male director and four female directors, including Oscar favourite Chloe Zhao for Nomadland. GALECA will host the Dorians Film Toast 2021 on queer platform Revry on the 18th of April, when winners will be announced.

Best Film

First Cow



Promising Young Woman

Sound of Metal

Best Director

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Regina King (One Night in Miami)

Kelly Reichardt (First Cow)

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Film Performance - Actress

Nicole Beharie (Miss Juneteenth)

Viola Davis (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Best Film Performance - Actor

Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Anthony Hopkins (The Father)

Delroy Lindo (Da 5 Bloods)

Steven Yeun (Minari)

Best Film Performance - Supporting Actress

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Candice Bergen (Let Them All Talk)

Olivia Colman (The Father)

Amanda Seyfried (Mank)

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Film Performance - Supporting Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Chadwick Boseman (Da 5 Bloods)

Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami)

Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)

Best Screenplay

Radha Blank (The Forty-Year-Old Version)

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Eliza Hittman (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Documentary


Crip Camp

Dick Johnson Is Dead

Disclosure: Trans Lives on Screen


Welcome to Chechnya

Best Foreign Language Film

Another Round


I Carry You with Me

La Llorona

Minari Two of Us

Best LGBTQ Film


I Carry You with Me

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom


Uncle Frank

Best Unsung Film

The Assistant


First Cow

The Forty-Year-Old Version

Miss Juneteenth

Never Rarely Sometimes Always


Best LGBTQ Documentary

Born to Be

Disclosure: Trans Lives on Screen

Mucho Mucho Amor: The Legend of Walter Mercado

A Secret Love

Welcome to Chechnya

Campiest Flick

Bad Hair

Birds of Prey: and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn

Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga

The Prom

Wonder Woman 1984

Most Visually Striking Film

Birds of Prey: and the Fantabulous Emancipation of One Harley Quinn





"We're Wilde About You!" Rising Star Award

Maria Bakalova

Kingsley Ben-Adir

Radha Blank

Sidney Flanigan

Alan S. Kim

Wilde Artist Award (to a truly groundbreaking force in entertainment)

Chadwick Boseman

Regina King

Elliot Page

Dolly Parton

Chloe Zhao


bottom of page