top of page

Minari is North Carolina critics' film of 2020

Noel Cho and Han Ye Ri in Lee Isaac Chong's Minari
Noel Cho and Han Ye Ri in Minari

At the head of one of the busiest weeks for critics awards this season, the North Carolina Film Critics Association has announced its 2020 prize winners. Minari converts four of its six nominations into wins, among them Best Narrative Film. Also winning four is Nomadland, with two for Chloe Zhao and another Best Actress win for Frances McDormand. Check out all the results below.

Best Narrative Film


Best Documentary Film

Dick Johnson Is Dead

Best Animated Film


Best Foreign Language Film

Another Round

Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Actor

Delroy Lindo (Da 5 Bloods)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Best Supporting Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Best Supporting Actress

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Original Screenplay

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Special Effects


Best Music


Ken Hanke Memorial Tar Heel Award

Will Patton (Minari)

Best Restoration (a special award to acknowledge a previously released film that was restored and/or rereleased theatrically or on DVD)

Lord of the Rings Trilogy (Warner Bros.)


bottom of page