top of page

London Critics' Circle announces its 2019 film awards nominations

Updated: Jan 31, 2020

Tilda Swinton, Tom Burke and Honor Swinton-Byrne in Joanna Hogg's The Souvenir
Tilda Swinton, Tom Burke and Honor Swinton-Byrne in The Souvenir

Trust us posh London lot to go ham on the year's bougiest movie - the whole Hogg, indeed. The Souvenir is 2019's most-nominated movie at the London Critics' Circle film awards, with seven mentions total. Naturally, its haul is inflated by its eligibility in the British/Irish-only categories - remove those, and The Irishman instead leads with six.

We'll have to wait until the 30th of January, when the LCC hosts its annual awards ceremony, to find out who wins and where. Until then, we can gladly savour the slate below, as it's a typically excellent selection from these smart, thoughtful critics.

Film of the Year


The Irishman


Knives Out

Marriage Story


Pain & Glory


Portrait of a Lady on Fire

The Souvenir

Director of the Year

Pedro Almodovar (Pain & Glory)

Bong Joon Ho (Parasite)

Sam Mendes (1917)

Celine Sciamma (Portrait of a Lady on Fire)

Martin Scorsese (The Irishman)

Actress of the Year

Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)

Lupita Nyong'o (Us)

Florence Pugh (Midsommar)

Charlize Theron (Bombshell)

Renee Zellweger (Judy)

Actor of the Year

Antonio Banderas (Pain & Glory)

Tom Burke (The Souvenir)

Robert de Niro (The Irishman)

Adam Driver (Marriage Story)

Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)

Supporting Actress of the Year

Laura Dern (Marriage Story)

Jennifer Lopez (Hustlers)

Florence Pugh (Little Women)

Margot Robbie (Bombshell)

Tilda Swinton (The Souvenir)

Supporting Actor of the Year

Tom Hanks (A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood)

Shia LaBeouf (Honey Boy)

Al Pacino (The Irishman)

Joe Pesci (The Irishman)

Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Screenwriter of the Year

Pedro Almodovar (Pain & Glory)

Noah Baumbach (Marriage Story)

Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won (Parasite)

Joanna Hogg (The Souvenir)

Steven Zaillian (The Irishman)

Technical Achievement Award

Will Becher and Richard Phelan (A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon) - animation

Jacqueline Durran (Little Women) - costumes

Lee Ha Jun (Parasite) - production design

Barbara Ling (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood) - production design

Allen Maris (Ad Astra) - visual effects

Todd Douglas Miller (Apollo 11) - editing

Daniel Pemberton (Motherless Brooklyn) - music

Oliver Tarney (1917) - sound design

Jasper Wolf (Monos) - cinematography

Jeremy Woodhead (Judy) - makeup and hair

Documentary of the Year

Amazing Grace

Apollo 11

The Cave

For Sama

Varda by Agnes

Foreign-Language Film of the Year

Happy as Lazzaro


Pain & Glory


Portrait of a Lady on Fire

The Attenborough Award for British / Irish Film of the Year




The Souvenir

Wild Rose

British / Irish Actress of the Year

Jessie Buckley (Judy / Wild Rose)

Cynthia Erivo (Harriet)

Lesley Manville (Maleficent: Mistress of Evil / Ordinary Love)

Florence Pugh (Fighting with My Family / Little Women / Midsommar)

Saoirse Ronan (Little Women)

British / Irish Actor of the Year

Tom Burke (The Souvenir)

Taron Egerton (Rocketman)

George MacKay (1917 / Ophelia / Where Hands Touch)

Robert Pattinson (High Life / The King / The Lighthouse)

Jonathan Pryce (The Two Popes)

The Philip French Award for Breakthrough British / Irish Filmmaker

Waad Al-Khateab and Edward Watts (For Sama)

Richard Billingham (Ray & Liz)

Mark Jenkin (Bait)

Owen McCafferty (Ordinary Love)

Nicole Taylor (Wild Rose)

Young British / Irish Performer of the Year

Raffey Cassidy (Vox Lux)

Dean-Charles Chapman (1917 / Blinded by the Light / The King)

Roman Griffin Davis (Jojo Rabbit)

Noah Jupe (Ford v. Ferrari / Honey Boy)

Honor Swinton Byrne (The Souvenir)

British / Irish Short Film of the Year


Beyond the North Winds: A Post-Nuclear Reverie

The Devil's Harmony

Kingdom Come


Image credit: MovieStillsDB

11 views0 comments


bottom of page