top of page

Latino Entertainment Journalists Association announces 2nd annual award nominations

Al Pacino in Martin Scorsese's The Irishman
Al Pacino in The Irishman

'Twas the luck of the Irish, I suspect, that saw Italian-American Martin Scorsese's Irish gangster movie The Irishman win over none other than a group of Latinx critics. The Latino Entertainment Journalists Association has only offered up their year-end opinions once before, in last year's first ever LEJA awards, and this year's second crop is led by The Irishman with ten nominations. There are also impressive performances put in by titles like The Farewell and Parasite, and welcome Best Picture mentions for titles thus far under-acknowledged in this year's critics' awards, like Monos and The Two Popes.

Indeed, the LEJA award nominations are pleasantly peppered with surprise picks and non-English language titles throughout, be that in the 4/10 Best Picture nominees not in English, or in the support for features such as Birds of Passage, La Flor, Invisible Life, Tigers Are Not Afraid and Tremors. Some of these nominations betray a fine appreciation for the cinematic arts across a wide range of disciplines (across a wide range of categories: there are 26 prizes available here!), with several of LEJA's choices among the very best made by any voting body so far this season.

Award winners will be announced two weeks today on the 19th of January.

Best Picture

1917 (Pippa Harris, Callum McDougall, Sam Mendes and Jayne-Ann Tenggren)

The Farewell (Anita Gou, Daniele Melia, Andrew Miano, Peter Saraf, Marc Turtletaub, Lulu Wang, Chris Weitz and Jane Zheng)

Hustlers (Jessica Elbaum, Will Ferrell, Elaine Goldsmith-Thomas, Jennifer Lopez and Adam McKay)

The Irishman (Robert de Niro, Randall Emmett, Gaston Pavlovich, Jane Rosenthal, Martin Scorsese and Emma Tillinger Koskoff)

Marriage Story (Noah Baumbach, David Heyman and Craig Shilowich)

Monos (Fernando Epstein, Alejandro Landes, Cristina Landes and Santiago A. Zapata)

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood (David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh and Quentin Tarantino)

Pain & Glory (Agustin Almodovar)

Parasite (Kwak Sin Ae and Jang Young Hwan)

The Two Popes (Jonathan Eirich, Dan Lin and Tracey Seaward)

Best Director

Pedro Almodovar (Pain & Glory)

Bong Joon Ho (Parasite)

Fernando Meirelles (The Two Popes)

Sam Mendes (1917)

Martin Scorsese (The Irishman)

Lulu Wang (The Farewell)

Best Actress

Awkwafina (The Farewell)

Gabriela Cartol (The Chambermaid)

Ana de Armas (Knives Out)

Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)

Lupita Nyong'o (Us)

Renee Zellweger (Judy)

Best Actor

Antonio Banderas (Pain & Glory)

Leonardo DiCaprio (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Adam Driver (Marriage Story)

Juan Pablo Olyslager (Tremors)

Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)

Adam Sandler (Uncut Gems)

Best Supporting Actress

Laura Dern (Marriage Story)

Jennifer Lopez (Hustlers)

Fernanda Montenegro (Invisible Life)

Margot Robbie (Bombshell)

Taylor Russell (Waves)

Zhao Shu Zhen (The Farewell)

Best Supporting Actor

Moises Arias (Monos)

Willem Dafoe (The Lighthouse)

Anthony Hopkins (The Two Popes)

Al Pacino (The Irishman)

Joe Pesci (The Irishman)

Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Original Screenplay

The Farewell

Knives Out

Marriage Story

Pain & Glory


Tigers Are Not Afraid

Best Adapted Screenplay


Invisible Life

The Irishman


Little Women

The Two Popes

Best Cinematography

Roger Deakins (1917)

David Gallego (Birds of Passage)

Phedon Papamichael (Ford v. Ferrari)

Rodrigo Prieto (The Irishman)

Lawrence Sher (Joker)

Jasper Wolf (Monos)

Best Film Editing

Ronald Bronstein and Benny Safdie (Uncut Gems)

Michael McCusker (Ford v. Ferrari)

Thelma Schoonmaker (The Irishman)

Lee Smith (1917)

Fernando Stutz (The Two Popes)

Yang Jin Mo (Parasite)

Best Production and Set Design


Invisible Life

The Irishman

Knives Out

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood

The Two Popes

Best Costume Design

Birds of Passage

Dolemite Is My Name


Little Women

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood


Best Sound Design


Ad Astra

Ford v. Ferrari

The Irishman


Tigers Are Not Afraid

Best Visual Effects


Ad Astra

Alita: Battle Angel

Avengers: Endgame

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Tigers Are Not Afraid

Best Hair & Makeup


Dolemite Is My Name


Invisible Life


Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood

Best Score

Michael Abels (Us)

Alexandre Desplat (Little Women)

Hildur Gudnadottir (Joker)

Mica Levi (Monos)

Randy Newman (Marriage Story)

Thomas Newman (1917)

Best Song

Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez - 'Into The Unknown' (Frozen II)

Joshuah Brian Campbell, Cynthia Erivo, Gabe Fox-Peck and Will Wells - 'Stand Up' (Harriet)

Gabriel Chwojnik and Mariano Llinas - 'Yo Soy El Fuego' (La Flor)

Elton John and Bernie Taupin - '(I'm Gonna) Love Me Again' (Rocketman)

Alan Menken, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul - 'Speechless' (Aladdin)

Caitlyn Smith, Mary Steenburgen and Kate York - 'Glasgow (No Place Like Home)' (Wild Rose)

Best Ensemble Casting


The Irishman

Knives Out


Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood


Best Stunts


Avengers: Endgame

Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw

Ford v. Ferrari

John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum

Terminator: Dark Fate

Best Animated Feature

Frozen II

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

I Lost My Body


Missing Link

Toy Story 4

Best Documentary Feature

American Factory

Apollo 11

The Edge of Democracy

Knock Down the House

One Child Nation

Midnight Family

Best International Feature

The Chambermaid

Invisible Life


Pain & Glory


Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Voice / Motion Performance

Tony Hale (Toy Story 4)

Tom Hanks (Toy Story 4)

Shirley Henderson (Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker)

Rosa Salazar (Alita: Battle Angel)

Will Smith (Aladdin)

Danny Trejo (Rosa and the Lost City of Gold)

Latino Breakout Award


Latino Activism Award


Rita Moreno Lifetime Achievement Award


Image credit: MovieStillsDB

15 views0 comments


bottom of page