top of page

Joker leads 2019 BAFTA nominations

Joaquin Phoenix in Todd Phillips' Joker
Joaquin Phoenix in Joker

BAFTA sure aren't joking around with their 2019 film award nominations! Todd Phillips' Joker, which has been somewhat sporadic in its presence so far this awards season, makes its big entrance on the scene as a serious player with 11 BAFTA nods, more than any other movie this year. Right behind it are The Irishman and Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood with 10 each.

Between this, its strong showing at various guild award nominations, and its Golden Globes success, Joker now takes its place as one of the leading Oscar contenders; even if the critics have payed it dust, industry voters are taking to the movie with gusto. It's one of many typically ugly qualities to this year's BAFTA nominations, including no women nominated for Best Director, and a full 20 acting slots occupied by white performers, echoing the #OscarsSoWhite controversy of a few years back.

The BAFTAs will take place this year on the 2nd of February, exactly one week before the Oscars.

Best Film

1917 (Pippa Harris, Callum McDougall, Sam Mendes and Jayne-Ann Tenggren)

The Irishman (Robert de Niro, Jane Rosenthal, Martin Scorsese and Emma Tillinger Koskoff)

Joker (Bradley Cooper, Todd Phillips and Emma Tillinger Koskoff)

Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood (David Heyman, Shannon McIntosh and Quentin Tarantino)

Parasite (Bong Joon Ho and Kwak Sin Ae)

Best Director

Bong Joon Ho (Parasite)

Sam Mendes (1917)

Todd Phillips (Joker)

Martin Scorsese (The Irishman)

Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Leading Actress

Jessie Buckley (Wild Rose)

Scarlett Johansson (Marriage Story)

Saoirse Ronan (Little Women)

Charlize Theron (Bombshell)

Renee Zellweger (Judy)

Best Leading Actor

Leonardo DiCaprio (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Adam Driver (Marriage Story)

Taron Egerton (Rocketman)

Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)

Jonathan Pryce (The Two Popes)

Best Supporting Actress

Laura Dern (Marriage Story)

Scarlett Johansson (Jojo Rabbit)

Florence Pugh (Little Women)

Margot Robbie (Bombshell)

Margot Robbie (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Supporting Actor

Tom Hanks (A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood)

Anthony Hopkins (The Two Popes)

Al Pacino (The Irishman)

Joe Pesci (The Irishman)

Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Original Screenplay

Noah Baumbach (Marriage Story)

Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won (Parasite)

Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins and Katie Silberman (Booksmart)

Rian Johnson (Knives Out)

Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Greta Gerwig (Little Women)

Anthony McCarten (The Two Popes)

Todd Phillips and Scott Silver (Joker)

Taika Waititi (Jojo Rabbit)

Steven Zaillian (The Irishman)

Best Cinematography

Jarin Blaschke (The Lighthouse)

Roger Deakins (1917)

Phedon Papamichael (Ford v. Ferrari)

Rodrigo Prieto (The Irishman)

Lawrence Sher (Joker)

Best Editing

Andrew Buckland and Michael McCusker (Ford v. Ferrari)

Tom Eagles (Jojo Rabbit)

Jeff Groth (Joker)

Fred Raskin (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Thelma Schoonmaker (The Irishman)

Best Production Design

Mark Friedberg and Kris Moran (Joker)

Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales (1917)

Regina Graves and Bob Shaw (The Irishman)

Nancy Haigh and Barbara Ling (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Nora Sopkova and Ra Vincent (Jojo Rabbit)

Best Costume Design

Jacqueline Durran (Little Women)

Christopher Peterson and Sandy Powell (The Irishman)

Arianne Phillips (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Mayes C. Rubeo (Jojo Rabbit)

Jany Temime (Judy)

Best Sound

David Acord, Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, Stuart Wilson and Matthew Wood (Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker)

Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith and Danny Sheehan (Rocketman)

David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven Morrow and Donald Sylvester (Ford v. Ferrari)

Tod A. Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich and Dean A. Zupancic (Joker)

Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor and Stuart Wilson (1917)

Best Special Visual Effects

Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron and Dominic Tuohy (1917)

Dan DeLeeuw and Daniel Sudick (Avengers: Endgame)

Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli and Pablo Helman (The Irishman)

Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan and Dominic Tuohy (Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker)

Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman and Adam Valdez (The Lion King)

Best Makeup & Hair

Vivian Baker, Anne Morgan and Tsuji Kazuhiro (Bombshell)

Naomi Donne (1917)

Kay Georgiou and Nicki Ledermann (Joker)

Jeremy Woodhead (1917)

Elizabeth Yianni-Georgiou (Rocketman)

Best Original Score

Alexandre Desplat (Little Women)

Michael Giacchino (Jojo Rabbit)

Hildur Gudnadottir (Joker)

Thomas Newman (1917)

John Williams (Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker)

Best Casting

Douglas Aibel and Francine Maisler (Marriage Story)

Sarah Crowe (The Personal History of David Copperfield)

Nina Gold (The Two Popes)

Shayna Markowitz (Joker)

Victoria Thomas (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Animated Film

Frozen II (Chris Buck, Peter del Vecho and Jennifer Lee)

Klaus (Jinko Gotoh and Sergio Pablos)

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon (Will Becher, Paul Kewley and Richard Phelan)

Toy Story 4 (Josh Cooley and Mark Nielsen)

Best Documentary

American Factory (Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert)

Apollo 11 (Todd Douglas Miller)

Diego Maradona (Asif Kapadia)

For Sama (Waad Al-Khateab and Edward Watts)

The Great Hack (Karim Amer and Jehane Noujaim)

Best Film Not in the English Language

The Farewell (Daniele Melia and Lulu Wang)

For Sama (Waad Al-Khateab and Edward Watts)

Pain & Glory (Agustin Almodovar and Pedro Almodovar)

Parasite (Bong Joon Ho)

Portrait of a Lady on Fire (Benedicte Couvreur and Celine Sciamma)

Outstanding British Film

1917 (Pippa Harris, Callum McDougall, Sam Mendes, Jayne-Ann Tenggren and Krysty Wilson-Cairns)

Bait (Kate Byers, Mark Jenkin and Linn Waite)

For Sama (Waad Al-Khateab and Edward Watts)

Rocketman (Adam Bohling, Dexter Fletcher, David Furnish, Lee Hall, David Reid and Matthew Vaughn)

Sorry We Missed You (Paul Laverty, Ken Loach and Rebecca O'Brien)

The Two Popes (Jonathan Eirich, Dan Lin, Anthony McCarten, Fernando Meirelles and Tracey Seaward)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Waad Al-Khateab and Edward Watts (For Sama)

Kate Byers, Mark Jenkin and Linn Waite (Bait)

Alvaro Delgado-Aparicio (Retablo)

Alex Holmes (Maiden)

Harry Wootliff (Only You)

Best British Short Film

Azaar (Nathanael Baring and Myriam Raja)

Goldfish (Hector Dockrill, Laura Dockrill, Harri Kamalanathan and Benedict Turnbull)

Kamali (Rosalind Croad and Sasha Rainbow)

Learning to Skateboard in a War Zone (If You're a Girl) (Elena Andreicheva and Carol Dysinger)

The Trap (Anthony Fitzgerald and Lena Headey)

Best British Short Animation

Grandad Was a Romantic. (Maryam Mohajer)

In Her Boots (Kathrin Steinbacher)

The Magic Boat (Naaman Azhari and Lilia Laurel)

EE Rising Star Award


Kaitlyn Dever

Kelvin Harrison Jr.

Jack Lowden

Micheal Ward

Image credit: MovieStillsDB

7 views0 comments


bottom of page