top of page

International Documentary Association: Minding The Gap Wins Top Prize

Liu Bing's debut feature, Minding the Gap, won the top award from the International Documentary Association at last night's ceremony in Los Angeles. The skateboarding doc beat top Oscar contenders such as Morgan Neville's Won't You Be My Neighbour? to the prize, making a choice many cinephiles will applaud in the process. And they made a few more, with awards also for fellow acclaimed titles such as Bisbee '17 and Hale County This Morning, This Evening. Take a look at the full slate of award winners right here:

Best Feature

Minding the Gap (Liu Bing and Diane Quon)

Best Writing

Mila Turajlic (The Other Side of Everything)

Best Cinematography

Shevaun Mizrahi (Distant Constellation)

Best Editing

Joshua Altman and Liu Bing (Minding the Gap)

Best Music Score

Keegan DeWitt (Bisbee '17)

Best Music Documentary

Matangi/Maya/M.I.A. (Lori Cheatle, Andrew Goldman, Steve Loveridge and Paul Mezey)

Mr. SOUL! (Melissa Haizlip and Samuel D. Pollard)

ABC News VideoSource Award

John McCain: For Whom the Bell Tolls (George Kunhardt, Peter Kunhardt and Teddy Kunhardt)

Best Short

Zion (Carter Collins and Floyd Russ)

Pare Lorentz Award

The Silence of Others (Robert Bahar and Almudena Carracedo)

Pare Lorentz Award - Honourable Mention

The Distant Barking of Dogs (Monica Hellstrom and Simon Lereng Wilmont)

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Award

Circle (Jayisha Patel)

3 views0 comments


bottom of page