top of page

International Cinephile Society names Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains the Best Picture of 2020

Gu Xiao Gang's Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains
Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains

Another awards season enlivened considerably by the announcement of the International Cinephile Society's picks for the best in film of the previous year. This time, they've selected Gu Xiao Gang's remarkable debut Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains as their best of 2020 - an excellent choice, capping an excellent Top 25 from the group and a very strong lineup of award winners overall. Love to see First Cow and Lingua Franca get some attention too. Very my thing! Well done, ICS!

Best Film

  1. Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains

  2. First Cow

  3. Days

  4. Nomadland

  5. Lingua Franca

  6. Lovers Rock

  7. The August Virgin

  8. A Portuguesa

  9. Bacurau

  10. If It Were Love

  11. Never Rarely Sometimes Always

  12. I'm Thinking of Ending Things

  13. The Year of the Discovery

  14. The Wasteland

  15. Fauna

  16. Identifying Features

  17. The Works and Days (of Tayoko Shiojiri in the Shiotani Basin)

  18. Malmkrog

  19. The Disciple

  20. Residue

  21. All Hands on Deck

  22. DAU. Degeneration

  23. Madre

  24. Undine

  25. Love Affair(s)

Best Director

Kelly Reichardt (First Cow)

Runner-up: Isabel Sandoval (Lingua Franca) / Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)


Rita Azevedo Gomes (A Portuguesa)

Gu Xiao Gang (Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains)

Tsai Ming Liang (Days)

Best Actress

Isabel Sandoval (Lingua Franca)

Runner-up: Marta Nieto (Madre)


Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Barbara Sukowa (Two of Us)

Best Actor

Aditya Modak (The Disciple)

Runner-up: Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)


Bartosz Bielenia (Corpus Christi)

Alfredo Castro (My Tender Matador)

Delroy Lindo (Da 5 Bloods)

James Norton (Nowhere Special)

Best Supporting Actress

Sonia Braga (Bacurau)

Runner-up: Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)


Candice Bergen (Let Them All Talk)

Lynn Cohen (Lingua Franca)

Vasilisa Perelygina (Beanpole)

Talia Ryder (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Best Supporting Actor

Francisco Barreiro (Fauna)

Runner-up: Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)


Anong Houngheuangsy (Days)

Orion Lee (First Cow)

Edouard Sulpice (All Hands on Deck)

Andre Wilms (The Salt of Tears)

Best Original Screenplay

Juliano Dornelles and Kleber Mendonca Filho (Bacurau)

Runner-up: Isabel Sandoval (Lingua Franca)


Itsaso Arana and Jonas Trueba (The August Virgin)

Guillaume Brac and Catherine Pailee (All Hands on Deck)

Eliza Hittman (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Nicolas Pereda (Fauna)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Jonathan Raymond and Kelly Reichardt (First Cow)

Runner-up: Cristi Puiu (Malmkrog)


Rita Azevedo Gomes (A Portuguesa)

Eugene Green (Atarrabi & Mikelats)

Oliver Hermanus and Jack Sidey (Moffie)

Charlie Kaufman (I'm Thinking of Ending Things)

Best Cinematography

Deng Xu and Yu Ning Hui (Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains)

Runner-up: Dong Jing Song (The Wild Goose Lake)


Christopher Blauvelt (First Cow)

Acadio de Almeida (A Portuguesa)

Shabier Kirchner (Lovers Rock)

Gianfranco Rosi (Notturno)

Best Editing

Sara Yavari (The Wasteland)

Runner-up: Merawi Gerima (Residue)


Chris Dickens and Steve McQueen (Lovers Rock)

Liu Xin Zhu (Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains)

Kelly Reichardt (First Cow)

Camilo Restrepo (Los Conductos)

Best Production Design

Nuno Franco (A Portuguesa)

Runner-up: Anthony Gasparro, Vanessa Knoll and Lisa Ward (First Cow)


Dany Boivin (The Twentieth Century)

Sergey Ivanov (Beanpole)

Denis Shibanov (DAU. Degeneration)

Dinica TIberiu (Malmkrog)

Best Sound Design

Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh and Michelle Couttolenc (Sound of Metal)

Runner-up: Ronald Bailey, Paul Cotterell and James Harrison (Lovers Rock)


Alex J. Bledsoe and Isiah Clarke (Residue)

Anirban Borthakur, Naren Chandavarkar and Anita Kushwaha (The Disciple)

Willie D. Burton, Richard King, Kevin O'Connell and Gary A. Rizzo (Tenet)

Erik Duemig, Johnny Marshall and David Rosenblad (The Vast of Night)

Best Score

Keresztes Gabor (Preparations to Be Together for an Unknown Period of Time)

Runner-up: William Tyler (First Cow)


Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Soul)

Naren Chandavarkar and Aneesh Pradhan (The Disciple)

Dou Wei (Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains)

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Mank)

Best Ensemble


Runner-up: Malmkrog


Da 5 Bloods

All Hands on Deck

Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains

Lovers Rock

Best Animated Picture

Josep (Aurel)

Runner-up: The Wolf House (Joaquin Cocina and Cristobal Leon)


Calamity, A Childhood of Martha Jane Cannary (Remi Chaye)

Circumstantial Pleasures (Lewis Klahr)

Soul (Pete Docter and Kemp Powers)

Wolfwalkers (Tomm Moore and Ross Stewart)

Best Documentary

The Year of the Discovery (Luis Lopez Carrasco)

Runner-up: The Metamorphosis of Birds (Catarina Vasconcelos)


City Hall (Frederick Wiseman)

Collective (Alexander Nanau)

My Mexican Bretzel (Nuria Gimenez)

Time (Garrett Bradley)

Best Debut Feature

Dwelling in the Fuchun Mountains (Gu Xiao Gang)

Runner-up: Identifying Features (Fernanda Valadez)


Residue (Merawi Gerima)

Sole (Carlo Sironi)

Swallow (Carlo Mirabella-Davis)

The Vast of Night (Andrew Patterson)


bottom of page