top of page

First Cow wins Best Film at 2020 NYFCC awards

John Magaro in Kelly Reichardt's First Cow
John Magaro in First Cow

Female-directed American indies are storming through this very early stage in the 2020-21 awards season! Kelly Reichardt's First Cow wins Best Film at arguably the most prestigious film critics awards in the world, the New York Film Critics Circle, though that was its only prize. Elsewhere, honours were healthily spread out, including wins for fellow female filmmakers Chloe Zhao in Best Director for Nomadland and Eliza Hittman in Best Screenplay for Never Rarely Sometimes Always. This will surely be a very popular slate from the NYFCC, the first of the really big hitters to announce this year. All the details below!

Best Film

First Cow

Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Actress

Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Best Actor

Delroy Lindo (Da 5 Bloods)

Best Supporting Actress

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Best Supporting Actor

Chadwick Boseman (Da 5 Bloods)

Best Screenplay

Eliza Hittman (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Best Cinematography

Shabier Kirchner (Small Axe)

Best Animated Film


Best Non-Fiction Film


Best Foreign-Language Film


Best First Film

Radha Blank (The Forty-Year-Old Version)

Special Award

Kino Lorber

Spike Lee


bottom of page