top of page

Film Critics Association UK announces inaugural awards nominations

Frankie Corio, Paul Mescal, Aftersun, Charlotte Wells, Film Critics Association UK
Frankie Corio and Paul Mescal in Aftersun

Each awards season, one or two new critics groups emerge out of nothing, nowhere and never to declare a fresh perspective on the year's best in film, and this year, the first to do so is the Film Critics Association UK. Unlike some of these new "groups," they're both legit and legitimately smart, as their inaugural awards nominations exhibit. The Banshees of Inisherin and Everything Everywhere All at Once lead the field, with six nominations over a scant seven categores. Aftersun also fares well with five mentions, and it's one of only three of the ten-strong Film of the Year nominees to score a Director of the Year nod too. No details yet as to when the FCAUK will announce the winners.

Film of the Year


The Banshees of Inisherin

The Batman

Bones and All

Everything Everywhere All at Once

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio

Top Gun: Maverick

The Woman King

The Worst Person in the World

Director of the Year

Guillermo del Toro (Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Park Chan Wook (Decision to Leave)

Jordan Peele (Nope)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Actress of the Year

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Viola Davis (The Woman King)

Danielle Deadwyler (Till)

Anamaria Vartolomei (Happening)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Actor of the Year

Austin Butler (Elvis)

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

Paul Mescal (Aftersun)

Alexander Skarsgard (The Northman)

Supporting Actress of the Year

Angela Bassett (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Frankie Corio (Aftersun)

Dolly de Leon (Triangle of Sadness)

Stephanie Hsu (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Supporting Actor of the Year

Brendan Gleeson (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brian Tyree Henry (Causeway)

Barry Keoghan (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Mark Rylance (Bones and All)

Screenplay of the Year


The Banshees of Inisherin

Decision to Leave

Everything Everywhere All at Once



bottom of page