top of page

Everything Everywhere All at Once scores 17 North Carolina Film Critics Association award noms

Quan Ke Huy, Everything Everywhere All at Once, Dan Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, North Carolina Film Critics Association
Quan Ke Huy in Everything Everywhere All at Once

Everybody else, meet everything everywhere, and all at once. The North Carolina Film Critics Association has announced the nominees for its 2022 awards, and there's the clearest of clear frontrunners at the head of the pack. Everything Everywhere All at Once notches up a colossal 17 nominations, landing in all but one of the categories where it was eligible. Nothing else comes even remotely close: Top Gun: Maverick is the only movie to claim even half as many mentions as EEAAO, with nine, while The Banshees of Inisherin manages eight, and Nope a very respectable seven. Winners will be announced on 3 January.

Best Narrative Film

All Quiet on the Western Front

The Banshees of Inisherin

Everything Everywhere All at Once

The Fabelmans

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery




Top Gun: Maverick

Women Talking

Best Animated Film

Apollo 10 1/2: A Space Age Childhood

The Bad Guys

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio

Marcel the Shell with Shoes On

Turning Red

Best Documentary Film

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed

Fire of Love

Good Night Oppy

Moonage Daydream


Best Foreign Language Film

All Quiet on the Western Front


Decision to Leave



Best Director

Todd Field (Tar)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Jordan Peele (Nope)

S. S. Rajamouli (RRR)

Steven Spielberg (The Fabelmans)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Viola Davis (The Woman King)

Danielle Deadwyler (Till)

Mia Goth (Pearl)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Actor

Austin Butler (Elvis)

Tom Cruise (Top Gun: Maverick)

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

Daniel Kaluuya (Nope)

Best Supporting Actress

Angela Bassett (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

Jessie Buckley (Women Talking)

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Stephanie Hsu (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Janelle Monae (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

Best Supporting Actor

Paul Dano (The Fabelmans)

Brendan Gleeson (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brian Tyree Henry (Causeway)

Barry Keoghan (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Original Screenplay

Todd Field (Tar)

Tony Kushner and Steven Spielberg (The Fabelmans)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Jordan Peele (Nope)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Rian Johnson (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

David Kajganich (Bones and All)

Ehren Kruger, Christopher McQuarrie and Eric Warren Singer (Top Gun: Maverick)

Rebecca Lenkiewicz (She Said)

Sarah Polley (Women Talking)

Best Cinematography

Russell Carpenter (Avatar: The Way of Water)

Claudio Miranda (Top Gun: Maverick)

Linus Sandgren (Babylon)

Larkin Seiple (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Hoyte van Hoytema (Nope)

Best Editing

Tom Cross (Babylon)

Eddie Hamilton (Top Gun: Maverick)

Jonathan Redmond and Matt Villa (Elvis)

Paul Rogers (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Monika Willi (Tar)

Best Production Design

Anthony Carlino and Florencia Martin (Babylon)

James Chinlund and Lee Sandales (The Batman)

Dylan Cole, Vanessa Cole and Ben Procter (Avatar: The Way of Water)

Kelsi Ephraim and Jason Kisvarday (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Elli Griff and Rick Heinrichs (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

Best Costume Design

Ruth E. Carter (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

Shirley Kurata (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Catherine Martin (Elvis)

Gersha Phillips (The Woman King)

Mary Zophres (Babylon)

Best Sound Design

Dick Bernstein, Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Julian Howarth, Gary Summers and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle (Avatar: The Way of Water)

Chris Burdon, James H. Mather, Al Nelson, Mark Taylor and Mark Weingarten (Top Gun: Maverick)

Johnnie Burn and Jose Antonio Garcia (Nope)

Ian Chase, Alexandra Fehrman, Brent Kiser, Stephen Nelson and Andrew Twite (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Will Files, Douglas Murray, Andy Nelson and Stuart Wilson (The Batman)

Best Special Effects

Richard Baneham, Daniel Barrett, Joe Letteri and Eric Saindon (Avatar: The Way of Water)

Benjamin Brewer, Jeff Desom, Ethan Feldbau and Zak Stoltz (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Russell Earl, Anders Langlands, Dan Lemmon and Dominic Tuohy (The Batman)

Scott R. Fisher, Seth Hill, Bryan Litson and Ryan Tudhope (Top Gun: Maverick)

Scott R. Fisher, Jeremy Robert, Guillaume Rocheron and Sreejith Venugopalan (Nope)

Best Hair and Make-Up

Jason Baird, Mark Coulier, Louise Coulston and Shane Thomas (Elvis)

Michelle Chung and Anissa E. Salazar (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Naomi Donne, Michael Marino and Zoe Tahir (The Batman)

Camille Friend and Joel Harlow (Black Panther: Wakanda Forever)

Jamie Leigh McIntosh and Heba Thorisdottir (Babylon)

Best Score

Carter Burwell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Michael Giacchino (The Batman)

Justin Hurwitz (Babylon)

M. M. Keeravani (RRR)

John Williams (The Fabelmans)

Best Original Song

"Hold My Hand" (Top Gun: Maverick)

"Naatu Naatu" (RRR)

"New Body Rhumba" (White Noise)

"Nothing Is Lost (You Give Me Strength)" (Avatar: The Way of Water)

"This Is a Life" (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Acting Ensemble

The Banshees of Inisherin

Everything Everywhere All at Once

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

The Woman King

Women Talking

Best Stunt Coordination

Robert Alonzo (The Batman)

Timothy Eulich (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Danny Hernandez (The Woman King)

Casey O'Neill (Top Gun: Maverick)

Nick Powell (RRR)

Best Directorial Debut

Zach Cregger (Barbarian)

Parker Finn (Smile)

John Patton Ford (Emily the Criminal)

Shi Do Mee (Turning Red)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Breakthrough Performance

Austin Butler (Elvis)

Frankie Corio (Aftersun)

Stephanie Hsu (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Gabriel LaBelle (The Fabelmans)

Amber Midthunder (Prey)

Best Vocal Performance in Animation or Mixed Media

Rosalie Chiang (Turning Red)

Ewan McGregor (Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio)

Sandra Oh (Turning Red)

Sam Rockwell (The Bad Guys)

Jenny Slate (Marcel the Shell with Shoes On)

Ken Hanke Memorial Tar Heel Award

Brian Tyree Henry (Atlanta / Bullet Train / Causeway)

Aldis Hodge (Black Adam / City on a Hill)

Jonathan Majors (Devotion)

Earl Owensby - owner of Earl Owensby Studios

Evan Rachel Wood (Phoenix Rising / Weird: The Al Yankovic Story)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Composer

Carter Burwell

Danny Elfman

Ennio Morricone*

John Williams

Hans Zimmer

*Pretty sure he's dead


bottom of page