top of page

Dune, The Matrix, Nightmare Alley, A Quiet Place lead 2021 MPSE Golden Reel Award nominations

Updated: Jan 25, 2022

Jonathna Groff, Carrie-Anne Moss, Keanu Reeves, The Matrix Resurrections, Motion Picture Sound Editors, MPSE, Golden Reel Awards
Jonathan Groff, Carrie-Anne Moss and Keanu Reeves in The Matrix Resurrections

The Motion Picture Sound Editors have announced the nominees for their 2021 Golden Reel Awards. Four genre powerhouses stand at the head of the pack with three mentions apiece - Dune, The Matrix Resurrections, Nightmare Alley and A Quiet Place Part II, three of which are shortlisted for the Academy's Best Sound category (Nightmare Alley is not). Assessing which of the many movies up for the MPSE's awards is likeliest to score an Oscar nod next month is arguably a trickier task than ever, given the Academy's recent consolidation of their previous two sound categories and the re-formation of a shortlist for that single category this year, but this puts those three aforementioned titles in good standing, as well as serving as a considerable honour in its own right. Winners will be announced on the 13th of March.

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Effects/Foley

BELFAST (James Mather, Tomas Blazukas, Arthur Graley, Sue Harding and Oliver Ferris)

DUNE (Theo Green, Mark A. Mangini, Dave Whitehead, Phil Barrie, Lee Gilmore, Greg ten Bosch, Bob Kellough, Piero Mura, Christopher Bonis, Andy Malcolm, Koyama Goro and Sandra Fox)

THE MATRIX RESURRECTIONS (Dane A. Davis, Stephanie Flack, Bryan O. Watkins, Jeremy Peirson, Markus Stemler, Michael Schapiro, Eric Lindemann, Albert Gasser, Laurent Kossayan, Caron Weidner, Frank Kruse, Song Kuen Il and Daniel Weis)

NIGHTMARE ALLEY (Nathan Robitaille, Dashen Naidoo, Chelsea Body, Koyama Goro and Andy Malcolm)

NO TIME TO DIE (Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Bryan Bowen, Eilam Hoffman, Dawn Gough, Hugo Adams, Sue Harding and Andrea King)

A QUIET PLACE PART II (Ethan van der Ryn, Erik Aadahl, Malte Bieler, Brandon Jones, Chris Diebold, Matt Cavanaugh, Jonathan Klein, Steve Baine and Peter Persaud)

SPIDER-MAN: NO WAY HOME (Steven Ticknor and Tony Lamberti)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Dialogue/ADR

DUNE (David Bach)

LAST NIGHT IN SOHO (Dan Morgan and Julian Slater)

THE MATRIX RESURRECTIONS (Stephanie Flack, Dane A. Davis, Marek Forreiter, Benjamin Horbe, Dominik Schleier and Immo Trumpelmann)

NIGHTMARE ALLEY (Jill Purdy and Nelson Ferreira)

NO TIME TO DIE (Becki Ponting, Michael Maroussas, Rachael Tate, Adele Fletcher and Oliver Tarney)


A QUIET PLACE PART II (Ethan van der Ryn, Vanessa Lapato, Nancy Nugent and Matt Cavanaugh)

THE TRAGEDY OF MACBETH (Skip Lievsay and Michael Feuser)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Music

DUNE (Clint Bennett, Ryan Rubin and Peter Myles)


IN THE HEIGHTS (Jim Bruening, Jennifer L. Dunnington and Ben Holiday)

THE MATRIX RESURRECTIONS (Gabriel Isaac Mounsey, Hans Hafner and Jonathan Levi Shanes)

NIGHTMARE ALLEY (Clint Bennett, Kevin Banks and Cecile Tournesac)

A QUIET PLACE PART II (Jim Schultz, Nancy Allen, Del Spiva and Ramiro Belgardt)

TICK, TICK...BOOM! (Nancy Allen, John M. Davis and Bri Holland)

WEST SIDE STORY (Joe E. Rand, Ramiro Belgardt and David Channing)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Animation

ENCANTO (Shannon Mills, Brad Semenoff, Nia Hansen, Samson Neslund, Justin Doyle, Cameron Barker, Yang Qian Bai Hui, Richard Quinn, Alyssa Nevares, John Roesch, Shelley Roden, Earl Ghaffari, Angie Rubin and Kendall Demarest)

LUCA (Christopher Scarabosio, Andre Fenley, Richard Quinn, Ronni Brown, Justin Doyle, Pascal Garneau, Larry Oatfield, Jana Vance and Lodge Worster)

THE MITCHELLS VS THE MACHINES (Geoffrey G. Rubay, James Morioka, John Pospisil, Kip Smedley, Andy Sisul, Alec Rubay, Dan Kenyon, Greg ten Bosch, Curt Schulkey, Gregg Barbanell, Rick Owens, Dominick Certo and Barbara McDermott)

RAYA AND THE LAST DRAGON (Shannon Mills, Brad Semenoff, Nia Hansen, Samson Neslund, David C. Hughes, Cameron Barker, Chris Frazier, Steve Orlando, John Roesch, Shelley Roden, Jim Weidman and David Olson)

SING 2 (Dennis Leonard, Jonathan Greber, Daniel Laurie, Josh Gold, Lucas Miller, Benjamin A. Burtt, Shaun Farley, Jonathon Stevens, Michael Connell and Charles Martin Inouye)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Feature Documentary

BILLIE EILISH: THE WORLD'S A LITTLE BLURRY (Richard E. Yawn, Michael Brake, Robert Getty, Steven Avila, Shawn Kennelly, Melissa Kennelly and Vince Nicastro)

FLEE (Edward Bjorner, Jens Johansson, Fredrik Jonsater, Rune van Deurs and Bengt Oberg)

THE RESCUE (Deborah Wallach, Roland Vajs, Nuno Bento and Ben Smithers)


VAL (John Bolen)

THE VELVET UNDERGROUND (Leslie Shatz and Jahn Sood)

Outstanding Achievement in Sound Editing - Foreign Language Feature

CLIFF WALKERS (Yang Jiang, Zhao Nan, Li Xing Hui, Han Jun Sheng, Ann Scibelli, Xiao Ou Olivia Zhang and Iain Pattison)

THE HAND OF GOD (Silvia Moraes)

A HERO (Mohammad Reza Delpak)

TITANE (Severin Favriau and Celine Bernard)

A WRITER'S ODYSSEY (Liu Xiao Sha, Wang Gang, Wang Shuang Shuang, Ji Hong Rui, Mo Ruo Qi, Tobias Poppe, Jiang Zi Jian, Jin Zi, Zhang Pei Ya, Wang Zi Wei, Miao Yin and Yu Fei)


bottom of page