top of page

Chicago Film Critics Association announces 2020 award winners

Frances McDormand in Chloe Zhao's Nomadland
Frances McDormand in Nomadland

Nomadland pulls slightly further ahead again in the 2020 awards race with five wins at the Chicago Film Critics Association awards. Chloe Zhao's elegiac drama wins Best Picture, Director, Actress for Frances McDormand, Adapted Screenplay and Cinematography in an impressive show of support from the Chicago critics. You can check out their nominations from last week right here, and all the winners below.

Best Picture


Best Director

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Actress

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Best Supporting Actress

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Best Supporting Actor

Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)

Best Original Screenplay

Eliza Hittman (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Cinematography

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Best Editing

Robert Frazen (I'm Thinking of Ending Things)

Best Art Direction


Best Costume Design

Alexandra Byrne (Emma.)

Best Original Score

Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Soul)

Best Use of Visual Effects

The Invisible Man

Best Animated Film


Best Documentary

Dick Johnson Is Dead

Best Foreign Language Film

Another Round

Milos Stehlik Award for Most Promising Filmmaker

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Most Promising Performer

Sidney Flanigan (Never Rarely Sometimes Always)


bottom of page