top of page

Chaos reigns in 2020/21 BAFTA Film Award nominations

Updated: Apr 11, 2021

Tahar Rahim in Kevin Macdonald's The Mauritanian
Tahar Rahim in The Mauritanian

A change in BAFTA shortlisting protocols and nominating procedures has yielded the most shocking slate of film award nominees anyone can remember. The British Academy's choices for the 2020/21 movie season's best is overflowing with peculiarities, such as big snubs for British stars in Best Film nominees - like Promising Young Woman's Oscar-tipped Carey Mulligan, The Father's Olivia Colman, and The Trial of the Chicago 7's Sacha Baron Cohen - and for British stars in movies not up for the top award (justice for Delroy Lindo!). Where juries filled out the slates, expanded top categories boast such weird and wonderful picks and Jasmila Zbanic for Quo Vadis, Aida?, Niamh Algar for Calm with Horses, and Alfre Woodard for Clemency - probably the nomination of the season imo. The 2021 BAFTAs will be held on the 11th of April. As wretched as some of these nominations are, long may BAFTA continue to choose VIOLENCE!!!

Best Film

The Father (Philippe Carcassonne, Jean-Louis Livi and David Parfitt)

The Mauritanian (Adam Ackland, Leah Clarke, Beatriz Levin and Lloyd Levin)

Nomadland (Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances McDormand, Peter Spears and Chloe Zhao)

Promising Young Woman (Ben Browning, Emerald Fennell, Ashley Fox and Josey McNamara)

The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Stuart Besser and Marc Platt)

Best Director

Lee Isaac Chung (Minari)

Sarah Gavron (Rocks)

Shannon Murphy (Babyteeth)

Thomas Vinterberg (Another Round)

Jasmila Zbanic (Quo Vadis, Aida?)

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Leading Actress

Bukky Bakray (Rocks)

Radha Blank (The Forty-Year-Old Version)

Vanessa Kirby (Pieces of a Woman)

Frances McDormand (Nomadland)

Wunmi Mosaku (His House)

Alfre Woodard (Clemency)

Best Leading Actor

Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)

Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Adarsh Gourav (The White Tiger)

Anthony Hopkins (The Father)

Mads Mikkelsen (Another Round)

Tahar Rahim (The Mauritanian)

Best Supporting Actress

Niamh Algar (Calm with Horses)

Kosar Ali (Rocks)

Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm)

Dominique Fishback (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Ashley Madekwe (County Lines)

Youn Yuh Jung (Minari)

Best Supporting Actor

Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Barry Keoghan (Calm with Horses)

Alan S. Kim (Minari)

Leslie Odom Jr. (One Night in Miami)

Clarke Peters (Da 5 Bloods)

Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)

Best Original Screenplay

Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman)

Jack Fincher (Mank)

Theresa Ikoko and Claire Wilson (Rocks) Tobias Lindholm and Thomas Vinterberg (Another Round)

Aaron Sorkin (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Ramin Bahrani (The White Tiger) Michael Bronner, Rory Haines and Sohrab Noshirvani (The Mauritanian) Moira Buffini (The Dig)

Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller (The Father)

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Cinematography

Sean Bobbitt (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Alwin H. Kuchler (The Mauritanian) Erik Messerschmidt (Mank)

Joshua James Richards (Nomadland)

Dariusz Wolski (News of the World)

Best Editing

Alan Baumgarten (The Trial of the Chicago 7) Yorgos Lamprinos (The Father)

Mikkel E. G. Nielsen (Sound of Metal) Frederic Thoraval (Promising Young Woman)

Chloe Zhao (Nomadland)

Best Production Design

Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale (Mank)

David Crank and Elizabeth Keenan (News of the World) Maria Djurkovic and Tatiana Macdonald (The Dig)

Cathy Featherstone and Peter Francis (The Father)

Sarah Greenwood and Katie Spencer (Rebecca)

Best Costume Design

Alice Babidge (The Dig)

Alexandra Byrne (Emma.)

Michael O'Connor (Ammonite)

Ann Roth (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom) Trish Summerville (Mank)

Best Sound

Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Carlos Cortes and Michelle Couttolenc (Sound of Metal)

Beau Borders, Christian P. Minkler, Michael Minkler, Warren Shaw and David Wyman (Greyhound)

Sergio Diaz, Zach Seivers and M. Wolf Snyder (Nomadland)

Coya Elliott, Ren Klyce and David Parker (Soul)

Michael Fentum, William Miller, Mike Prestwood Smith, John Pritchett and Oliver Tarney (News of the World)

Best Special Visual Effects

Pete Bebb, Nathan McGuinness and Sebastian von Overheidt (Greyhound)

Santiago Colomo Martinez, Nick Davis and Greg Fisher (The One and Only Ivan)

Sean Faden, Steve Ingram, Anders Langlands and Seth Maury (Mulan)

Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson and Andrew Lockley (Tenet)

Matt Kasmir, Chris Lawrence and David Watkins (The Midnight Sky)

Best Make Up & Hair

Matiki Anoff, Larry M. Cherry, Sergio Lopez-Rivera and Mia Neal (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Mark Coulier (Pinocchio) Patricia Dehaney, Eryn Krueger Mekash and Matthew W. Mungle (Hillbilly Elegy)

Jenny Shircore (The Dig)

Kimberley Spiteri and Gigi Williams (Mank)

Best Original Score

Emile Mosseri (Minari)

James Newton Howard (News of the World)

Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Mank)

Anthony Willis (Promising Young Woman)

Jon Batiste, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (Soul)

Best Casting

Shaheen Baig (Calm with Horses)

Alexa L. Fogel (Judas and the Black Messiah)

Lindsay Graham and Mary Vernieu (Promising Young Woman) Julia Kim (Minari)

Lucy Pardee (Rocks)

Best Animated Film

Onward (Kori Rae and Dan Scanlon)

Soul (Pete Docter and Dana Murray)

Wolfwalkers (Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart and Paul Young)

Best Documentary

Collective (Alexander Nanau)

David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet (Alastair Fothergill, Jonnie Hughes and Keith Scholey)

The Dissident (Bryan Fogel and Thor Halvorssen)

My Octopus Teacher (Pippa Ehrlich, Craig Foster and James Reed)

The Social Dilemma (Jeff Orlowski and Lairssa Rhodes)

Best Film Not in the English Language

Another Round (Sisse Graum Jorgensen and Thomas Vinterberg)

Dear Comrades! (Andrei Konchalovskiy and Alisher Usmanov)

Minari (Lee Isaac Chung and Christina Oh)

Les Miserables (Ladj Ly)

Quo Vadis, Aida? (Damir Ibrahimovich and Jasmila Zbanic)

Outstanding British Film

Calm with Horses (Daniel Emmerson, Joe Murtagh and Nick Rowland)

The Dig (Moira Buffini, Simon Stone and Gabrielle Tana)

The Father (Philippe Carcassonne, Christopher Hampton, Jean-Louis Livi, David Parfitt and Florian Zeller)

His House (Martin Gentles, Edward Kings, Roy Lee and Remi Weekes)

Limbo (Irune Gurtubai, Angus Lamont and Ben Sharrock)

The Mauritanian (Michael Bronner, Rory Haines, Kevin Macdonald and Sohrab Noshirvani)

Mogul Mowgli (Riz Ahmed, Thomas Benski, Bennett McGhee and Bassam Tariq)

Promising Young Woman (Ben Browning, Emerald Fennell, Ashley Fox and Josey McNamara)

Rocks (Ameenah Ayub Allen, Sarah Gavron, Theresa Ikoko, Faye Ward and Claire Wilson)

Saint Maud (Andrea Cornwell, Rose Glass and Oliver Kassman)

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Rose Glass and Oliver Kassman (Saint Maud)

Irune Gurtubai and Ben Sharrock (Limbo)

Theresa Ikoko and Claire Wilson (Rocks)

Jack Sidey (Moffie)

Remi Weekes (His House)

Best British Short Film

The Birth of Valerie Venus (Jesse Lewis Reece and Ike Newman)

Lizard (Rachel Dargavel, Akinola Davies and Wale Davies)

Lucky Break (John Addis and Rami Sarras Pantoja)

Miss Curvy (Ghada Eldemellawy)

The Present (Farah Nabulsi)

Best British Short Animation

The Fire Next Time (Kerry Jade Kolbe, Renaldho Pelle and Wang Yan Ling)

The Owl and the Pussycat (Laura Duncalf and Mole Hill)

The Song of a Lost Boy (Brid Arnstein, Jamie MacDonald and Daniel Quirke)

EE Rising Star Award

Bukky Bakray

Kingsley Ben-Adir

Morfydd Clark

Sope Dirisu

Conrad Khan


bottom of page