top of page

Casting Society of America announces the 2019 Artios Award nominees

Updated: Jan 12, 2020

Renee Zellweger and Finn Wittrock in Rupert Goold's Judy
Renee Zellweger and Finn Wittrock in Judy

I'm a little late to the party, but I'm earlier than most! Plus, it's a busy time of year for all awards nuts. The Casting Society of America has announced the nominations for its Artios Awards for the year 2019. No movie leads as no movie is eligible for more than one prize, save the brand new Zeitgeist Award, though its three nominees all failed to secure a spot anywhere else here. Winners will be announced on the 30th of January.

Best Casting - Big Budget - Drama

Douglas Aibel, Kathy Driscoll, Francine Maisler and Carolyn Pickman (Little Women)

Nina Gold (1917)

Ellen Lewis and Kate Sprance (The Irishman)

Shayna Markowitz (Joker)

Victoria Thomas (Once Upon a Time... in Hollywood)

Best Casting - Big Budget - Comedy

Lindsay Graham-Ahanonu and Mary Vernieu (Dolemite Is My Name)

Brett Howe, Angela Peri and Mary Vernieu (Knives Out)

Gayle Keller (Hustlers)

Francine Maisler (Uncut Gems)

Reginald Poerscot-Edgerton (Rocketman)

Best Casting - Studio or Independent - Drama

Douglas Aibel, Kathy Driscoll and Francine Maisler (Marriage Story)

Meghan Apostoles, Erica Arvold, Anne Chapman and Kim Coleman (Harriet)

Chelsea Ellis Bloch and John Papsidera (Honey Boy)

Avy Kaufman and Mark Mullen (Waves)

Alice Searby and Fiona Weir (Judy)

Best Casting - Studio or Independent - Comedy

Maribeth Fox, Kimberly Ostroy and Laura Rosenthal (Late Night)

Maribeth Fox and Laura Rosenthal (Brittany Runs a Marathon)

Des Hamilton (Jojo Rabbit)

Ellen Lewis and Kate Sprance (The Dead Don't Die)

Meagan Lewis, Marisol Roncali and Mary Vernieu (Poms)

Leslie Woo (The Farewell)

Best Casting - Low Budget

Jodi Angstreich (Diane)

Jodi Angstreich, Maribeth Fox and Laura Rosenthal (Skin)

Kerry Barden, Paul Schnee and Roya Semnanian (Clemency)

Nina Henninger and Julia Kim (The Last Black Man in San Francisco)

John McAlary and Orly Sitowitz (Them That Follow)

Best Casting - Micro-Budget

Sunday Boling and Meg Morman (The Wind)

Justin Coulter, Ryan Glorioso and Stephanie Holbrook (The True Don Quixote)

Lois Drabkin and Susan Shopmaker (Low Tide)

Avy Kaufman (Mickey and the Bear)

Matthew Lessall (Skin in the Game)

Best Casting - Animation

Sarah Halley Finn and Jason B. Stamey (The Lion King)

Natalie Lyon and Kevin Reher (Toy Story 4)

Sarah Raoufpur and Jamie Sparer Roberts (Frozen II)

Christi Soper Hilt (Abominable)

Christi Soper Hilt (How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World)

The Zeitgeist Award

Rich Delia, Stephanie Gorin and Coco Kleppinger (It Chapter Two)

Tara Feldstein, Sarah Halley Finn, Chase Paris and Jason B. Stamey (Avengers: Endgame)

Nina Gold, April Webster, Alyssa Weisberg and Angela Young (Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker)

Image credit: MovieStillsDB

13 views0 comments


bottom of page