top of page

Boston Society Of Film Critics Names If Beale Street Could Talk The Best Film Of 2018

Regina King in If Beale Street Could Talk

An unusual, nonetheless healthy slate of awards winners and runners-up from the Boston Society of Film Critics to honour the year in cinema. If Beale Street Could Talk wins Best Picture, though loses Best Screenplay to a fellow adaptation, registering neither there nor in Best Director. And its winner, You Were Never Really Here, registers only as a joint runner-up in Best Original Score. Meanwhile, Roma bags a Best Cinematography prize, and is otherwise absent entirely. Anyway, here are all the BSFC's choices:

Best Picture

1. If Beale Street Could Talk

2. Shoplifters

3. The Favourite

Best Director

1. Lynne Ramsay (You Were Never Really Here)

2. Yorgos Lanthimos (The Favourite)

Best Actress

1. Melissa McCarthy (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

2. Ando Sakura (Shoplifters)

Best Actor

1. John C. Reilly (Stan & Ollie)

2. Ethan Hawke (First Reformed)

Best Supporting Actress

1. Regina King (If Beale Street Could Talk)

2. J. Smith-Cameron (Nancy)

Best Supporting Actor

1. Richard E. Grant (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

2. Brian Tyree Henry (If Beale Street Could Talk)

= Steven Yeun (Burning)

Best Screenplay

1. Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?)

2. Tamara Jenkins (Private Life)

Best Cinematography

1. Alfonso Cuaron (Roma)

2. Lukasz Zal (Cold War)

Best Film Editing (awarded in memory of Karen Schmeer)

1. Tom Cross (First Man)

2. Bob Murawski and Orson Welles (The Other Side of the Wind)

Best Original Score

1. Nicholas Britell (If Beale Street Could Talk)

2. Jonny Greenwood (You Were Never Really Here)

= Justin Hurwitz (First Man)

Best Ensemble Cast

1. Shoplifters

2. The Favourite

Best Animated Film

1. Isle of Dogs

2. Ralph Breaks the Internet

Best Documentary

1. Won't You Be My Neighbour?

2. Three Identical Strangers

Best Foreign-Language Film (awarded in memory of Jay Carr)

1. Shoplifters

2. Cold War

Best New Filmmaker (awarded in memory of David Brudnoy)

1. Bo Burnham (Eighth Grade)

2. Ari Aster (Hereditary)

12 views0 comments


bottom of page