top of page

Borat crashes Producers Guild of America lineup!

Sacha Baron Cohen in Jason Woliner's Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Sacha Baron Cohen in Borat Subsequent Moviefilm

After making a surprise appearance at last month's Writers Guild of America award nominations, then winning the Golden Globe for Best Musical or Comedy, the awards love has yet to let up for Borat Subsequent Moviefilm. Today, an even more surprising appearance as it leaps past Da 5 Bloods, The Father and News of the World to crack the Best Picture top ten from the Producers Guild of America. Voters' choices in the Animation and (previously announced) Documentary categories weren't nearly as shocking, but if this indication that Borat is stronger with industry groups than we'd thought might be misleading for the famously comedy-averse Academy, it's worrying news for the movies it beat. Winners will be announced on the 24th of March.

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

Borat Subsequent Moviefilm (Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines and Monica Levinson)

Judas and the Black Messiah (Ryan Coogler, Charles D. King and Shaka King)

Mank (Cean Chaffin, Eric Roth and Douglas Urbanski)

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom (Todd Black and Denzel Washington)

Minari (Christina Oh)

Nomadland (Mollye Asher, Dan Janvey, Frances McDormand, Peter Spears and Chloe Zhao)

One Night in Miami (Keith Calder, Jess Wu Calder and Jody Klein)

Promising Young Woman (Ben Browning, Emerald Fennell, Ashley Fox and Josey McNamara)

Sound of Metal (Sacha ben Harroche and Bert Hamelinck)

The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Stuart Besser and Marc Platt)

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

The Croods: A New Age (Mark Swift)

Onward (Kori Rae)

Over the Moon (Chou Pei Lin and Gennie Rim)

Soul (Dana Murray)

Wolfwalkers (Tomm Moore, Stephan Roelants, Nora Twomey and Paul Young)

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Motion Pictures

David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet (Jonnie Hughes)

Dick Johnson Is Dead (Katy Chevigny, Kirsten Johnson and Marilyn Ness)

My Octopus Teacher (Craig Foster)

Softie (Toni Kamau and Sam Soko)

A Thousand Cuts (Christopher Clements, Ramona S. Diaz, Julie Goldman, Carolyn Hepburn and Leah Marino)

Time (Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn)

The Truffle Hunters (Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw)


bottom of page