top of page

BlacKkKlansman Misses USC Scripter Nominations

Paul Chahidi, Michael Palin and Jeffrey Tambor in The Death of Stalin

Just when we all thought BlacKkKlansman was in the perfect position to usurp If Beale Street Could Talk as the Best Adapted Screenplay frontrunner, following the latter's recent fall from favour with industry award nominations, it goes and misses a couple of major marks. A loss at the Critics Choice awards is followed up by a total no-show at the USC Scripter nominations. These special awards from the USC have the potential each year to throw in a few interesting picks, and the combination of Black Panther, The Death of Stalin and Leave No Trace this year certainly qualifies as interesting. Winners will be announced on the 9th of February. Check out the movie nominees below.

Joe Robert Cole and Ryan Coogler (Black Panther) - based on the character created by Jack Kirby and Stan Lee

Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini (Leave No Trace) - based on the novel My Abandonment by Peter Rock

Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty (Can You Ever Forgive Me?) - based on the book by Lee Israel

Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin and David Schneider (The Death of Stalin) - based on the graphic novel by Fabien Nury and Thierry Robin

Barry Jenkins (If Beale Street Could Talk) - based on the novel by James Baldwin

Image Credit: MovieStillsDB

10 views0 comments


bottom of page