top of page

Banshees, Fabelmans, and Everything Everywhere: the 2022 Phoenix Critics Circle awards nominations

Gabriel LaBelle, The Fabelmans, Steven Spielberg, Phoenix Critics Circle
Gabriel LaBelle in The Fabelmans

Apparently, the film journalism scene in Phoenix, Arizona is so sizeable it requires two separate critics' groups to announce year-end awards, but sure, why not? Leading the Phoenix Critics Circle's 2022 awards nominations are three films, each with Best Picture nods among their seven apiece: Martin McDonagh's The Banshees of Inisherin, Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert's Everything Everywhere All at Once, and Steven Spielberg's The Fabelmans. They're joined in contention for the PCC's top prize by Charlotte Wells' Aftersun and Todd Field's Tar. Winners will be announced this Thursday, 15 December.

Best Picture


The Banshees of Inisherin

Everything Everywhere All at Once

The Fabelmans


Best Director

Todd Field (Tar)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

S. S. Rajamouli (RRR)

Steven Spielberg (The Fabelmans)

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett (Tar)

Viola Davis (The Woman King)

Ana de Armas (Blonde)

Danielle Deadwyler (Till)

Michelle Williams (The Fabelmans)

Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Best Actor

Austin Butler (Elvis)

Adam Driver (White Noise)

Colin Farrell (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Brendan Fraser (The Whale)

Gabriel LaBelle (The Fabelmans)

Best Supporting Actress

Chau Hong (The Whale)

Kerry Condon (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Jamie Lee Curtis (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Janelle Monae (Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery)

Keke Palmer (Nope)

Best Supporting Actor

Paul Dano (The Fabelmans)

Brendan Gleeson (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Barry Keoghan (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Quan Ke Huy (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Mark Rylance (Bones and All)

Best Screenplay

Todd Field (Tar)

Dan Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Everything Everywhere All at Once)

Martin McDonagh (The Banshees of Inisherin)

Ruben Ostlund (Triangle of Sadness)

Jordan Peele (Nope)

Charlotte Wells (Aftersun)

Best Cinematography

Janusz Kaminski (The Fabelmans)

K. K. Senthil Kumar (RRR)

Claudio Miranda (Top Gun: Maverick)

Linus Sandgren (Babylon)

Hoyte van Hoytema (Nope)

Best Score

Alexandre Desplat (Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio)

Michael Giacchino (The Batman)

Justin Hurwitz (Babylon)

John Williams (The Fabelmans)

Best Animated Film

Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio


Marcel the Shell with Shoes On

Turning Red

Wendell & Wild

Best Documentary

Fire of Love

Good Night Oppy

Louis Armstrong's Black & Blues

Moonage Daydream


Best Foreign Language Film

All Quiet on the Western Front


Decision to Leave



Best Comedy Film


Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

Jackass Forever

Triangle of Sadness

The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent

Best Horror Film


Bones and All

Pearl Smile


Best Science Fiction Film

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever

Crimes of the Future

Everything Everywhere All at Once




bottom of page