top of page

BAFTA Night #1 winners announced

Glynn Turman, Michael Potts, Chadwick Boseman and Colman Domingo in George C. Wolfe's Ma Rainey's Black Bottom
Glynn Turman, Michael Potts, Chadwick Boseman and Colman Domingo in Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

With pandemic restrictions in mind, BAFTA made the smart decision to split its 2020/21 awards into two nights and two televized ceremonies. A far better format than their usual, which records the award winners pre-broadcast and relegates several winners to a montage at the show's end. Eight of the 25 competitive BAFTAs were handed out today, alas to recipients not physically present, but does that make this the worst awards ceremony of this bizarre, blighted season? No, but the tribute to the recently departed crusty old husk of bigotry, Prince Philip, certainly did. And, somewhat ignominiously, they've decided to dump their Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema award into this first batch of prizes, though it does go to Noel Clarke... Check out this year's BAFTA nominees here, and return for the remaining award winners tomorrow.

Best Production Design

Donald Graham Burt and Jan Pascale (Mank)

Best Costume Design

Ann Roth (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Best Sound

Jaime Baksht, Nicolas Becker, Phillip Bladh, Carlos Cortes and Michelle Couttolenc (Sound of Metal)

Best Special Visual Effects

Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson and Andrew Lockley (Tenet)

Best Make Up & Hair

Matiki Anoff, Larry M. Cherry, Sergio Lopez-Rivera and Mia Neal (Ma Rainey's Black Bottom)

Best Casting

Lucy Pardee (Rocks)

Best British Short Film

The Present (Farah Nabulsi)

Best British Short Animation

The Owl and the Pussycat (Laura Duncalf and Mole Hill)

Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema

Noel Clarke

9 views0 comments


bottom of page